July 23, 2018

Best Albums of August 2018: hmv.com previews the top 10...
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 23/07/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Best Albums of August 2018: hmv.com previews the top 10...

Ariana Grande, Deaf Havana, Interpol and The Kooks are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in August. 


Ariana Grande - Sweetener

Out August 17th

The singer unveils her fourth full-length effort next month, her first since 2016's sassy Dangerous Woman. 

Led by single 'No Tears Left To Cry' and new smash 'God Is A Woman', the album features guest appearances from both Nicki Minaj and Pharrell Williams. 

As you'd expect, Grande's production and co-writing is very impressive, with hitmaker in chief Max Martin and Maroon 5/One Direction man Savan Kotecha just two of the big names credited on the record. 



Deaf Havana - Rituals

Out August 3rd

Deaf Havana have already ripped up their own rulebook and started again once before, transitioning from a Funeral For A Friend esque screamo outfit into a powerhouse rock band that owed more to Bruce Springsteen. Now they're taking another left turn. 

For new album Rituals, frontman James Veck-Gilodi has worked largely alone with producer Phil Gornell to produce an album of pop songs more indebted to synths and electronica than guitars.  

As you can hear on new track 'Hell', it's a change that's worked for them...



Interpol - Marauder

Out August 24th

The moody indie titans unveil their sixth full-length album next month, their first new LP since 2014’s El Pintor.

Produced by Tame Impala/Flaming Lips collaborator David Fridmann and recorded in remote upstate New York, marking the first time the band have worked with an outside producer since 2007. 

The album will feature 13 tracks, including two interludes, and the band have promised their darkest record to date. 


Let's Go Sunshine

The Kooks - Let's Go Sunshine

Out August 31st

The Kooks return with their first new LP in four years and have reverted back to the sunny indie pop of their earlier year, leaving behind the jagged hip-hop influenced sound they trialled on 2014's Listen. 

The album is the band's first on their own Lonely Cat Recordings and produced by Brandon Friesen. 

Thank You for Today

Death Cab For Cutie - Thank You For Today

Out August 17th

The thoughtful indie types unveil album number nine next month, the follow-up to 2015's Kitsungi. 

Produced again by Rich Costey, is the first Death Cab for Cutie release to not feature guitarist Chris Walla since the band's first ever release, You Can Play These Songs with Chords. It is also the band's first album with new guitarist/keyboardists Dave Depper and Zac Rae. 

A 10-track album, the album is a more upbeat collection, as you can hear below on new single 'Gold Rush'...

Under My Skin

Gabrielle - Under My Skin

Out August 17th

The soul singer, best known for her megahits 'Dream', 'Rise' and 'Out Of Reach', returns with her first new album in 11 years next month. 

For her comeback, Gabrielle has largely worked with Corinne Bailey Rae collaborator Steve Chrisanthou who did Corinne Bailey Rae and Paloma Faith producer Ian Barter. 

Jake Shears

Jake Shears - Jake Shears

Out August 10th

The Scissor Sisters frontman makes his solo debut on this album and is as flamboyant as ever. 

The album’s 12 tracks, written over the last two years after the Scissor Sisters went on hiatus, were recorded in Louisville with Kevin Ratterman and a host of local musicians that include members of My Morning Jacket. 


Troye Sivan - Bloom

Out August 30th

The singer follows up his much-acclaimed debut album Blue Neighborhood with a brand new collection. 

Bloom sees the singer taking a serious step up, with production talent including Haim/Sky Ferreira man Ariel Rechtshaid, Max Martin disciple OzGo and electro whizz The Haxan Cloak. 

Ariana Grande and Aussie folktronica star Gordi both guest on the album, which features hit singles 'My, My, My' and 'Dance To This'. 

Treat Myself

Meghan Trainor - Treat Yourself

Out August 31st

The 'All About That Bass' singer returns with her third full-length effort at the end of August. 

The album will include the newly released title track as well as the smash hit 'No Excuses'. 

B. Inspired

Bugzy Malone - B. Inspired

Out August 17th

The Mancunian rapper drops his debut full-length effort next month.