July 24, 2017

Best Albums of August 2017: hmv.com previews the top 10...
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 24/07/2017


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Best Albums of August 2017: hmv.com previews the top 10...

Queens Of The Stone Age, The War On Drugs, PVRIS and Chase & Status are among the artists with new albums out in August...


Queens Of The Stone Age - Villains

Out August 25th

2013’s ...Like Clockwork took Josh Homme and co into arenas and up to the top of festival bills and they’ve taken their time with a follow-up, but it arrives next month.

For new album Villains, they’ve teamed up with producer Mark Ronson and embraced retro sonics, for a stripped down aesthetic with groovy guitars right at its heart.

Villains is the band’s seventh full-length effort and includes new hit single ‘The Way You Used To’.


All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell

PVRIS - All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell

Out August 25th

After the huge success of their debut album White Noise, PVRIS return with a second full-length effort.

All We Know Of Heaven, All We Need Of Hell sees the band working with producer Blake Harnage once again and was recorded inside a converted church in upstate New York, making the band’s taste for the epic come to life in even more vivid detail.

The album includes hit single ‘Heaven’ and new cut ‘What’s Wrong’.


24-7 Rock Star S***

The Cribs - 247 Rock Star Shit

Out August 11th

The Wakefield trio follow-up 2015’s acclaimed For All My Sisters with a brand new LP.

After working with powerpop specialist Ric Ocasek on For All My Sisters, the threesome have stripped things right down for their new album, teaming up with Steve Albini, the man who helped Nirvana record In Utero.

The album includes new single ‘In Your Palace’ as well nine other songs.


A Deeper Understanding

The War On Drugs - A Deeper Understanding

Out August 25th

The Philadelphia psychedelic rockers wowed everyone with 2014’s Lost In The Dream and have taken their time coming up with a follow-up.

A Deeper Understanding is the band’s first for new label Atlantic Records and was recorded in studios in both New York and Los Angeles.

Shawn Everett, who has also worked with the likes of Alabama Shakes and Weezer, co-produced the album alongside the band's frontman Adam Granduciel.


A Fever Dream

Everything Everything - A Fever Dream

Out August 18th

For their fourth studio album the Manchester wonkpop foursome have teamed up with James Ford, the man behind three of the Arctic Monkeys’ records and the new effort from Depeche Mode.

After the politically charged sounds of previous album Get To Heaven, this album sees the band heading into more personal territory, still with that distinctive sonic take on everything.



Rat Boy - Scum

Out August 11th

We’ve been reading about Jordan Cardy for over four years now, but we finally get to hear his debut album next month.

To help with the album, Cardy has recruited Blur’s Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon for guest appearances, while he himself has handled production.

The album contains 25 tracks, including eight interludes and a collaboration with Mallory Merk.


Painted Ruins

Grizzly Bear - Painted Ruins

Out August 18th

The much-loved Brooklyn indie types are back with their first new album in five years.

Written over the course of two years primarily at Allaire Studios in New York, but also at various locations around Los Angeles, including Taylor's own Terrible Studios.

Mainman Chris Taylor has handled production duties once again with the lyrical taking a dark turn following frontman Ed Droste’s divorce.


Music for People in Trouble

Susanne Sundfør - Music For People In Trouble

Out August 25th

The Norwegian songstress wowed everyone with 2015’s Ten Love Songs and returns now with a brand new collection.

Inspired by a trip the singer took across the world, she has talked up the album as her attempt to “try and mix up some innocent romantic sounds with something very industrial and dry sounds”.

John Grant guests on the album, lending his gruff vocals to the LP’s closer ‘Mountaineers’.


The Future's Void

EMA - Exile In The Outer Ring

Out August 25th

Erika M. Anderson roars back with a hardened new LP, one inspired by Shane Meadows' spiky coming of age drama This Is England, especially on new single ‘Aryan Nation’.




Chase and Status - Tribe

Out August 18th

The hugely successful drum and bass duo unveil their first new album since 2013's Brand New Machine. 

To help, they've secured the vocal services of Emeli Sande, Kano, Bugsy Malone, Slaves, Craig David and Shy FX for their new LP.