previews... - June 23, 2019

Best Albums of July 2019: previews the top 10...
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Best Albums of July 2019: previews the top 10...

Ed Sheeran, Bleached, Kaiser Chiefs and Mini Mansions are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in July...


Ed Sheeran - No.6 Collaborations Project

Out July 12th


Before he was a global superstar, Ed Sheeran recorded five EPs with the hope of being signed by a record label, the last of which saw him collaborating with Devlin, Wiley, P Money, Ghetts and JME.

He's now revived the idea for his next album and follow-up to 2017's ÷. 

Coming in at 15 tracks, the album will feature a different guest on every song, with Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper and Bruno Mars among those who feature. 



Banks - III

Out July 12th


The sultry songstress returns in July with her third full-length effort. 

The LP is her first since 2016's The Altar and sees her working with a series of hitmakers, including Hudson Mohawke, Francis And The Lights and frequent Bon Iver collaborator BJ Burton. 



Of Monsters And Men - Fever Dream

Out July 26th


The Icelandic fivesome return with their third album next month. 

Mastodon/Muse man Rich Costey is at the controls for the LP, which sees the band adding a raw edge to their expansive and anthemic indie rock. 



Bleached - Don't You Think You've Had Enough?

Out July 12th


Jessica and Jennifer Clavin follow up their storming 2016 LP Welcome The Worms with a new collection in July. 

Produced by Vampire Weekend/Sleigh Balls man Shane Stoneback, the album finds the sister in a more reflective mood, with a sleeker sound to accompany that. 



Kaiser Chiefs - Duck

Out July 26th


The indie titans unveil their seventh studio album next month, their first since 2016's Stay Together. 

Recorded with producer Ben Allen, who oversaw 2016's Education, Education, Education and War, the album sees the band returning to the poppy indie of their days and moving away from the electronic experimentalism of Stay Together. 

The band's eccentric lyrical trappings are still fully intact too, with tracks like 'Lucky Shirt' and 'Kurt vs. Frasier (The Battle for Seattle)' included on the LP. 



Mini Mansions - Guy Walks Into A Bar

Out July 26th


The supergroup, which includes Queens Of The Stone Age's Michael Shuman and The Last Shadow Puppets/Arctic Monkeys frequent collaborator Zach Dawes, drop their third album next month. 

The album, which features former Mars Volta and current Queens Of The Stone Age man Jon Theodore on drums, also includes a guest appearance from The Kills' Alison Mosshart. 



Freya Ridings - Freya Ridings

Out July 19th


The singer will look to capitalise on the huge success of her single 'Lost Without You' with her debut album next month. 

Overseen by Adele/Sia key collaborator Greg Kurstin, the album also includes tracks written with Two Inch Punch and Bastille/Wombats man Mark Crew. 

The album also features a cover of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' tearjerker 'Maps'. 



Thy Art Is Murder - Human Target

Out July 26th


The Australian deathcore collective make it five albums and counting next month.

It is the band's first album with drummer Jesse Beahler following the departure of Lee Stanton and sees the group working with Miss May I/Stray From The Path producer Will Putney.

The personnel might be slightly different, but the band have lost none of their power and potency, with tracks like 'Make America Hate Again' and 'Death Squad Anthem' included on the record. 



Sum 41 - Order In Decline

Out July 19th


The Canadian pop-punks unveil their seventh full-length effort next month, following up 2016's 13 Voices. 

Self-produced by frontman Deryck Whibley, but largely co-written with Brand New/Taking Back Sunday collaborator Mike Green, the album sees the band in defiant form. 

Lyrically inspired by the world's ever-evolving political turmoil, the album is a fiery addition to the band's back catalogue. 



Tycho - Weather

Out July 12th


Scott Hansen's boundlessly ambitious electronica makes a welcome return this July. 

His new album, which is the follow-up to 2016's Epoch, is an eight-track collection which sees Hansen experimenting with harder sounds and guitars. 

Singer Saint Sinner provides vocals on five of the eight tracks. 



More Articles

View All