Top 5... - May 5, 2022

Best Albums of May 2022: previews the Top 5
by James
by James hmv London, Bio "Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

Best Albums of May 2022: previews the Top 5

With Florence + the Machine, Arcade Fire and Liam Gallagher all returning this month, we prview five of the best albums coming to stores in May...


Florence + The Machine – Dance Fever

Florence Welch, the machine and that gigantic voice are back this month with Dance Fever, the band’s fifth full-length album and their first since 2018’s High Hope, which saw them narrowly miss out on the top spot in the UK album chart for the first time, their first three LPs all reaching the summit in their debut week of release.

Florence herself is listed among a list of producers on the new album that also includes Dave Bayley, Kid Harpoon and Jack Antonoff, the latter also acting as co-writer on the new album’s lead single ‘King’, unveiled in February this year.

‘King’ is one of 14 new tracks included on Dance Fever, whose title was reportedly inspired by Welch’s fascination with a condition known as choreomania, a bizarre phenomenon of mass, fevered dancing first encountered in the 14th century.

Due to land in our stores on May 13, Florence and the Machine will be hoping that their new LP see them back on the top of the UK Album chart the fifth time around.


Arcade Fire – WE

Canadian indie-rock powerhouses Arcade Fire are set to deliver their sixth studio album in May with WE, their first full-length effort since 2017’s Everything Now, not counting last year’s release of their score for Spike Jonze’s 2013 film Her.

Whereas their previous LP featured production from Steve Mackey and Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter, this time around they’ve enlisted the help of Radiohead’s longtime producer of choice Nigel Godrich, who co-produces the new album alongside the band’s own Win Butler and Régine Chassagne.

Featuring 10 new tracks including ‘The Lightning’ parts I and II, which you can find below, Arcade Fire’s brand new LP makes its way onto the shelves in our stores on May 6.


Belle and Sebastian – A Bit of Previous

Stuart Murdoch and co. return with their first ‘proper’ studio album since 2016’s Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance – their other recent outings coming in the form of their 2018 compilation of EPs, How to Solve Our Human Problems and their 2019 soundtrack to Simon Bird’s film Days of the Bagnold Summer.

A Bit of Previous is the band’s 10th studio album and although the original plan was to record in Los Angeles, the pandemic saw them revert to self-producing for the first time since their 1996 debut album Tigermilk.

The new album contains 12 new tracks including recent single and is set to land in stores on May 6.


Liam Gallagher – C’mon Y’Know

Fresh from the news that the former Oasis frontman may need a double hip replacement operation –one he is refusing to have, last time we checked - Liam Gallagher remains undeterred as he prepares to unleash his third solo album, which follows in the footsteps of his 2017 debut As You Were and its 2019 follow-up Why Me? Why Not.

Gallagher has called in some big guns to help with his third LP, including Dave Grohl, who co-wrote recent single ‘Everything’s Electric’, and Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig, who plays saxophone on the album’s title track. It’s a similar story on the production front too, with Andrew Wyatt and Greg Kurstin both contributing to the singer’s third solo effort.

Due to arrive in stores on May 27, C’Mon Y’know will, obviously, be one to crank up nice and loud


The Black Keys – Dropout Boogie

In what must be one of the most prolific runs in their history, Ohio rock duo The Black Keys return to deliver their third new album in the last four years, their newest LP Dropout Boogie set to arrive in stores on May 14, almost exactly a year to the day since the release of their previous LP, 2021’s Delta Kream.

Their 11th studio album in all, Dropout Boogie is also the third album released on their own Easy Eye Sound imprint (which may well be a factor in their recent increase in output) and is once again self-produced by Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney, featuring 10 new tracks as well as a guest appearance from ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons, who appears on ‘Good Love’. You can also find the video for their recent single ‘Wild Child’ below…


More Articles

View All