previews... - February 2, 2022

Best Albums of February 2022: previews some of the best LPs coming this month...
by James
by James hmv London, Bio "Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

Best Albums of February 2022: previews some of the best LPs coming this month...

New albums from Tears for Fears, Sea Power and Alt-J are among the best LPs coming in February 2022...


Tears for Fears – The Tipping Point

Released February 25

Pre-order here

Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith return to the fray this month with their first album in almost two decades – their last outing arriving in the form of 2004’s Everybody Loves a Happy Ending. Set to arrive on February 25, their new album The Tipping Point has, by all accounts, been a difficult record to make; one that has taken in the near-departure of Smith over the album’s direction, the scrapping of an entire album’s worth of material and, sadly, the death of Orzabal’s wife, Caroline.

Despite all of this, Tears for Fears have emerged from the chaos brandishing their seventh studio album, which features 10 new tracks including the recently-released title track, which also serves as the album’s lead single, and ‘No Small Thing’, released in December last year.


Sea Power – Everything Was Forever

Released February 18

Pre-order here

After dropping the ‘British’ prefix from their name in 2021, citing a wish to avoid the connotations with rising sentiments of “isolationist, adversarial nationalism”, the Brighton-based sextet returns this month with their first album as Sea Power – their eighth studio album in total, and the first since 2017’s Let the Dancers Inherit the Party.

Announced alongside their name change last year, Everything Was Forever features 10 new tracks - including singles ‘Green Goddess’, ’Two Fingers’, ‘Lakeland Echo’ and Folly - and makes its arrival in hmv stores on February 18.


Alt-J – The Dream

Released: February 11

Pre-order here

Back this month with their first new album since 2017’s Relaxer, genre-bending trio Alt-J are set to deliver their fourth full-length offering The Dream, an album that sees them hook up once again with producer Charlie Andrew, who has worked on all of the band’s albums to date.

Containing 12 new tracks including recent singles ‘Hard Drive Gold’ and ‘U&Me’, Alt-J’s third album is due to land on the shelves in hmv stores on February 11.


Bastille – Give Me the Future

Released February 4

Pre-order here

Dan Smith and co. return at the beginning of the month with their fourth full-length effort, a concept album of sorts which sees the band channelling science fiction in a series of cautionary tales about the dark side of technology.

Featuring input from OneRepublic’s Ryan Tedder and guest appearances from London-based singer-songwriter Bim and Riz Ahmed, who adds a spoken-word contribution to ‘Promises’, Bastille’s new album Give Me the Future features 13 new tracks and lands in hmv stores on February 4.


Frank Turner – FTHC

Released February 11

Pre-order here

If Frank Turner’s last couple of albums have explored a wider range of stylistic territory, from the electronic textures on Be More Kind to the folk-influenced No Man’s Land, his upcoming ninth studio album finds him back firmly in his rock comfort zone – and clearly enjoying it.

Produced by Rich Costey – a man who is certainly no stranger to the rock genre – Turner’s new album FTHC (which stands for Frank Turner Hardcore) includes 14 new tracks and is due to make its entry into hmv stores on February 11.


Black Country, New Road – Ants from Up There

Released February 4

Pre-order here

The second album from Black Country, New Road arrives in the wake of the recent news that the band’s frontman, Isaac Wood, is departing the band, citing mental health issues in a joint announcement with the band just days before the release of their new LP Ants from Up There. Unfortunately, the band have had to cancel their upcoming US tour as a result, however the band have assured fans that the six remaining members fully intend to continue making music together.

Recorded on the Isle of Wight with their long-time live sound engineer Sergio Maschetzko, Ants From Up There marks the end of an era for the band when it makes its arrival in stores on February 4.


More Articles

View All