previews... - August 27, 2019

Best Albums of September 2019: previews the top 10...
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Best Albums of September 2019: previews the top 10...

Blink-182, Liam Gallagher, Bat For Lashes and M83 are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in September...


Blink-182 - Nine

Out September 20th


The beloved pop-punks unveil their appropriately titled ninth full-length album next month, their second without founding member Tom DeLonge and with Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba as part of the line-up.  

The album reunites the trio with producer John Feldmann, who helped the band on previous effort California, while Pharrell Williams, Sugarcult's Tim Pagnotta and The Futuristics have also contributed production to the LP. 

The LP features 15 tracks, including hit singles 'Generational Divide' and 'Blame It On My Youth'. 



Liam Gallagher - Why Me? Why Not.

Out September 20th


Gallagher follows up his hit debut solo LP As You Were with a second full-length effort next month. 

Recorded in Los Angeles, the album includes an array of production talent, with Adele/Sia man Greg Kurstin, Mark Ronson key collaborator Andrew Wyatt and Cherry Ghost's Simon Aldred among the contributors. 

Headlined by new single 'Shockwave', the album also has a familiar touch with Gallagher's 18-year-old son Gene playing bongos on the track 'One Of Us'. 



Bat For Lashes - Lost Girls

Out September 6th


After wowing with 2016's The Bride, Natasha Khan returns with another wondrous concept album. 

This time, Khan introduces us to Nikki Pink, a girl in a strange parallel universe, which she describes as "a fully formed parallel universe… in which gangs of marauding female bikers roam our streets, teenagers make out on car hoods, and a powerful female energy casts spells and leave clues for us to follow.”

Musically, the album is more electronic and cinematic than Khan's previous work, but just as dreamy and atmospheric. 

Charles Scott IV produces the record. 



Metronomy - Metronomy Forever

Out September 13th


After going it entirely alone on 2016's Summer 08, Joe Mount reunites with his bandmates for this new album, the band's sixth. 

It's a lengthy LP, with 17 tracks in all, each one set in the band's trademark offbeat whimsical funky pop. 



Charli XCX - Charli

Out September 13th


Unbelievably it's been five whole years since Sucker, Charli XCX's last full-length effort, but that changes next month. 

The album is packed with high-profile guests, including Christine and the Queens, Sky Ferreira, Troye Sivan, Haim and Lizzo, while StarGate and A.G. Cook are among the production talent on the record. 

Coming at 15 tracks, the album features hit singles '1999' and 'Gone'. 




Out September 20th


Anthony Gonzalez unveils his eighth studio album and its a sequel to Digital Shades Vol. 1, his fourth studio album, which was released in 2007. 

The album was recorded between 2017 and 2018 using only analog equipment, with producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen.

The LP finds Gonzalez in a nostalgic mood, with early video game and 1980s science fiction movie soundtracks acting as key influences. 



Iggy Pop - Free

Out September 6th


The legendary singer drops his 18th solo album in the first week of next month, the follow-up to the universally adored Post Pop Depression. 

To create the album, the veteran firebrand has worked with Texan jazz trumpeter Leron Thomas and guitar instrumentalist Noveller. 

As you can hear on new single 'James Bond', the singer's taste for stark, direct post-punk is back, back, back...



The Highwomen - The Highwomen

Out September 6th


Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Maren Morris and Amanda Shires come together to form new country supergroup The Highwomen.

Their debut album, which has been produced by Chris Stapleton/Sturgil Simpson knob-twiddler Dave Cobb, features guest appearances from Jason Isbell, Sheryl Crow and British act Yola.



Chelsea Wolfe - Birth Of Violence

Out September 13th


Wolfe, who has built her reputation on industrial power and crushing guitars, strips things right back next month. 

Her new LP, her first since 2017's Hiss Spun, sees Wolfe pushing folk and acoustic influences to the top of her sound. 

Regular collaborator Ben Chisholm produces. 



Pixies - Beneath The Eyrie

Out September 13th


The cult rockers release their seventh full-length album and their third since they reunited in 2004. 

Produced by Royal Blood/Skunk Anansie collaborator Tom Dalgety, the album comes in at 12 tracks, while retaining the band's beloved eccentric ways and cheese wire guitars. 


More Articles

View All