previews... - December 20, 2017

hmv previews 2018's Best Albums... Indie
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

hmv previews 2018's Best Albums... Indie

Over the next few days, we'll be previewing 80 of the best albums you can expect to hear in 2017. Most will come out, some inevitably won't, but they are all worth getting excited about. 

Today it's the best of indie...



Title: TBA

Release Date: Mid 2018


It’s been four years since the dark-hearted indie foursome released an album, time they’ve spent pursuing solo ventures. Frontman Paul Banks has been collaborating with Wu-Tang-Clan rapper RZA, guitarist Daniel Kessler and drummer Sam Fogarino have formed other bands, and the only talk from Interpol has been about the celebration of classic debut album Turn On The Bright Lights, which they spent the summer playing from beginning to end in their live shows.

But a new album is on the way, Banks and Fogarino have both spoken about it and label Matador Records have confirmed it’s coming. Fogarino has also promised it’ll be full of “arena rock ballads”, we’re not sure if he’s joking or not…




Title: The Black Album

Release Date: TBA


The band have only just released new album Pacific Daydream, but frontman Rivers Cuomo has also confirmed that the follow-up The Black Album is pretty much complete and will arrive in the spring of 2018.

Having done Blue, Green, Red and White, now we get the chance to hear the band go Black…



First Aid Kit

Title: Ruins

Release Date: January 19th

Pre-Order it here.


We’ve been waiting quite a while for the Swedish folk duo to return, but they’re confirmed to do so next month with new LP Ruins.

Recorded with Laura Veirs/My Morning Jacket producer Tucker Martine in Portland, the album features collaborations with R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, Wilco’s Glenn Kotche and Midlake’s McKenzie Smith.

The album sees the band embrace a rawer sound, taking inspiration from classic country and 1970’s folk.



The Vaccines

Title: Combat Sports

Release Date: March 30th

Pre-Order It Here. 


Much has changed in The Vaccines’ camp since the release of their last LP English Graffiti.

At the tail end of touring the album, the band announced the departure of drummer Pete Robertson and initially planned to continue as a three-piece. They soon changed their minds and have now swelled to a fivesome with new drummer Yoann Intonti and touring keyboardist Timothy Lanham now permanent members of the band.

For their new album, they’ve headed up to Sheffield and recorded with Arctic Monkeys/Drenge producer Ross Orton and channelled the fast, punky indie rock into a new collection.



Django Django

Title: Marble Skies

Release Date: January 26th

Pre-Order It Here. 


The eccentric indie types return with their third album, produced once again by drummer David Maclean.

Metronomy’s Anna Prior and Slow Club's Rebecca Taylor both make guest appearances on the album, which includes new single ‘Tic Tac Toe’.



Brian Fallon

Title: Sleepwalkers

Release Date: February 9th


If anyone thought that The Gaslight Anthem’s hiatus would be a short fix, they’ve been proved wrong as frontman Brian Fallon prepares to deliver his second solo album.

Recorded with Ted Hutt, the man who helped The Gaslight Anthem record their beloved The ‘59 Sound, Fallon has moved away from the brooding feeling of his debut LP and into more joyful territory, channelling British invasion pop and 60’s R&B, as you can hear on new single ‘Forget Me Not’.



Title: TBA

Release Date: Mid-2018


Now shorn of their major label and newly signed to Ignition Records, the Worcester indie types are currently putting the finishes touches to the follow-up to 2015’s Happy People.

Details are pretty scant at this point, but they’ve told fans to expect surprises. We look forward to it…



Rae Morris

Title: Someone Out There

Release Date: February 2nd

Pre-Order It Here. 


Morris follows up her hit 2015 debut album Unguarded in early February with new LP Someone Out There.

She’s back with some serious production help, with Fryars, Ariel Rechtshaid, My Riot, Fred Gibson, Buddy Ross and Starsmith all on hand to help out for this album, which sees Morris take her quirky, ethereal pop to a new level.



The Wombats

Title: Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life

Release Date: February 9th

Pre-Order It Here. 


The indie trio fully embrace electronica on their fourth studio album, which sees them go it alone on their own label after their departure from Warners.

Produced by Bastille/Rag'n'Bone Man's Mark Crew and Foals/The Big Moon's Catherine Marks, you can hear the band’s embrace of electronic sheen in full on the quirky ‘Lemon To A Knife Fight’.


Julian Casablancas And The Voidz


Title: TBA

Release Date: TBA

Julian Casablancas is in no hurry to get back to The Strokes, in fact, he’s very busy with his side project, the decidedly wacky, semi-jazzy collective The Voidz.

Their new album is due in early 2018, it will be wacky and it will be wild.

Also, The Strokes’ mainman’s other project are now simply known as The Voidz, as you can see in this video, announcing their new album...


Combat Sports
Combat Sports The Vaccines

More Articles

View All