April 2, 2019

This Month's Vinyl Picks: April 2019
by James

by James Forryan

hmv London; 02/04/2019


"Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor, hmv.com

This Month's Vinyl Picks: April 2019

Chemical Brothers, Circa Waves and Nirvana are amongst the best new vinyl releases coming in April...

No Geography

The Chemical Brothers – No Geography

April 12

After unleashing their first new track in over two years back in September of last year and three more singles in recent weeks, dancefloor legends The Chemical Brothers return in April with their ninth studio album No Geography.

The duo announced the follow-up to 2015's Born in the Echoes back in November last year and the new album is set to arrive in stores on all formats – including vinyl – on April 12th. No Geography features 10 new tracks, which the pair will be performing on a string of upcoming live dates this year, with an American tour followed by a series of shows in Europe later in 2019.

What's It Like Over There?

Circa Waves – What's It Like Over There?

April 5

The Liverpool quartet return with their third album this week and sees them reunite with producer Alan Moulder to deliver 10 new songs on the follow-up to their 2017 sophomore album Different Creatures, including the already-released tracks 'Movies' and 'Be Somebody Good'.

What's It Like Over There? was recorded in just one month and is due to make its arrival in stores on April 5th, including an LP version pressed onto black vinyl.

Social Cues

Cage The Elephant – Social Cues

April 19

After announcing in November last year that their fifth album was “Done. Mixed. Mastered.”, American rock sextet Cage The Elephant are set to deliver their latest full-length offering this month.

Social Cues contains 13 new tracks recorded in Nashville and Los Angeles with producer John Hill, including their recent single 'Ready To Let Go', and will arrive in stores on all formats, including vinyl, on April 19th.

The Balance

Catfish & The Bottlemen – The Balance

April 26

Following their chart-topping success with their 2016 sophomore LP The Ride, Welsh outfit Catfish & The Bottlemen will be hoping to repeat that performance when their upcoming third album The Balance arrives this month.

The new album was recorded in Ireland with producer Jacknife Lee and contains 12 brand new tracks, including the band's recent singles 'Longshot' and 'Fluctuate'. The Balance is due to land on the shelves in-store on all formats on April 26th.

Love + Fear

Marina – Love + Fear

April 26

Having now dropped the 'and the Diamonds' part of her stage name in favour of being known simply as 'Marina', the artist born Maria Diamandis is set to unleash her fourth studio album Love + Fear – the follow-up to 2015's Froot – later this month.

The new album contains 16 new tracks which, as the title might suggest, are split into two distinct halves, with eight songs comprising the 'Love' half of the album and another eight on the theme of 'Fear'. Marina's fourth full-length effort also features a wealth of production talent including Joel Little (Lorde, Sam Smith), Mark Ralph (Years & Years, Rag 'n' Bone Man) and Clean Bandit pair Jack Patterson and Grace Chatto. The vinyl edition is due to arrive in stores alongside all other formats on April 26th.

The Now Now (Picture Disc)

Gorillaz – The Now Now (picture disc)

April 19

The sixth album from Damon Albarn & Jamie Hewlett's 'virtual band' Gorillaz made its arrival back in June last year, but for fans who held out on buying the vinyl version at the time there's a treat in store this month as Gorillaz unveil a new picture disc version of their latest LP.

This stunning picture disc of The Now Now includes all 11 of the album's tracks and is due to land in stores on April 19th. It's a strictly limited edition, so ask in your local hmv store for pre-order details to make sure you don't miss out.

Shazam! OST

Shazam! Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

April 5

With the latest addition to the DC Extended Universe making its arrival in cinemas this week, Shazam! is also set to deliver a new LP for soundtrack fans as Benjamin Wallfisch's score for the new movie gets a vinyl release on April 5th – the same day the movie hits cinema screens in the UK.

The LP features 29 pieces composed for the film by Wallfisch in the composer's third collaboration with director David F. Sandberg, having provided scores for the director's previous two films Lights Out and Annabelle: Creation.

Live at the Paramount

Nirvana – Live at the Paramount

April 12

Nirvana's legendary live set at Seattle's Paramount Theatre on Halloween 1991 has already become the subject of a live concert video released on the gig's 20th anniversary in 2011, but this month will see their entire set pressed onto vinyl for the first time with a new 2LP set which is set to arrive in stores on April 12th.

Live at the Paramount features 19 tracks lifted from the band's first two albums Bleach and Nevermind, as well as live versions of 'Been a Son' from Incesticide and their cover of The Vaselines' 'Jesus Don't Want Me For A Sunbeam'. The vinyl editions also include a replica backstage pass from the show and a 12” X 24” poster.