January 31, 2020

This Month's Vinyl Picks: February 2020
by James

by James Forryan

hmv London; 31/01/2020


"Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor, hmv.com

This Month's Vinyl Picks: February 2020

New albums from Tame Impala and Caribou, plus an anniversary reissue and a new reworking for a Gil Scott-Heron classic, all coming to wax in February...

I'm New Here

Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (10th Anniversary)


Poet, author, musician, spoken word artist and all-round polymath Gil Scott-Heron delivered his 13th and final studio album in 2010, some 13 years after its predecessor and, sadly, just a year or so before his death, leaving behind one final stark and powerful instalment in a unique and often extraordinary career.

To celebrate the album's 10th anniversary, not only are XL Recordings issuing an expanded edition of the album exclusively on vinyl, but jazz drummer Makaya McCraven has created his own reimagined version of the album, adding a contemporary jazz twist in tribute to the man considered by many to be the “Godfather of rap”.

The reissue adds two previously unreleased tracks and a selection of other recordings taken from the album sessions, while McCraven's reworked version includes 18 tracks and is available on both CD and Vinyl. Both albums are set to arrive in stores on February 7th.

The Slow Rush

Tame Impala – The Slow Rush


Kevin Parker and co. continue their steady drift away from the swampy, fuzzy psychedelia or their debut LP towards their own brand of ethereal pop-rock on their fourth full-length effort The Slow Rush, which is set to land on the shelves this month and features recent singles 'Borderline' and 'It Might Be Time'.

In addition to CD there are three vinyl formats to choose from, all of which are 2LP sets, so you can either go for the standard black version or one of two coloured vinyl options – the first features two green green discs, while the second includes one pressed on red vinyl and the other on light blue. All formats are set to land in stores on February 14th.


Caribou – Suddenly

City Slang

Although it has been six years since Dan Snaith released new music under his Caribou moniker, the Canadian musician hasn't exactly been on hiatus since then, putting out two full-length releases under his Daphni alter-ego and a couple of EPs too. Fans might have been forgiven for wondering if they'd seen the last of Caribou, so the news of a new album set to arrive in February came as a pleasant surprise.

Suddenly is set to make its arrival in stores on February and features 12 new tracks including 'Never Come Back', 'You & I' and 'Home'. There's the just the standard black vinyl available but it arrives in stores along with the CD version on February 28th.

Father of All...

Green Day – Father Of All Motherf***ers

Warner Music

Veteran punk trio Green Day return this month with their first album since 2016's Revolution Radio and their thirteenth studio album in all, one which finds them in typically anthemic form. The new album includes recent singles 'Fire, Ready, Aim', 'Oh Yeah' and, of course, the expletive-laden title track.

Butch Walker and Chris Dugan are handling production duties on the new LP, which includes 10 tracks in all and is set to arrive in stores on February 7th, including a vinyl edition pressed on black wax.


Five Finger Death Punch – F8

Better Noise Records

Las Vegas metallers Five Finger Death Punch have wasted little time in setting about crafting a follow-up to 2018's And Justice For None, with their eight studio album already winging its way to stores in February – one which guitarist Zoltan Bathory has described as a “rebirth” for the band.

Kevin Churko has been retained from the previous album on production duties fro the new album, which arrives in stores on February 28th in a variety of formats, including CD, standard black vinyl, a picture disc and, last but by no means least, a silver vinyl edition exclusively available at hmv.

You're in My Heart

Rod Stewart with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – You're In My Heart


Veteran crooner Rod Stewart unveiled a new album of reworked favourites performed alongside the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra just before Christmas, but up until now his latest album has only been available in physical form as a CD.

That changes this month however as not one but two vinyl editions of You're In My Heart are set to land in stores on February 7th. Both are 2LP sets, one pressed onto black vinyl and the other onto hot pink, if you fancy a bit more colour. Other guests on the album include Robbie Williams and Stewart former bandmates from The Faces.

No-one Else Can Wear Your Crown

Oh Wonder – No-one Else Can Wear Your Crown

Island Records

Alt-pop duo Oh Wonder are back this month with a follow-up to their 2017 sophomore LP Ultralife, delivering 10 brand new tracks on their third album Nobody Else Can Wear Your Crown.

Including the singles 'Happy' and 'I Wish I Never Met You', the new album lands in stores on February 7th and offers two vinyl options – one black, the other a limited edition version pressed onto light blue vinyl.


Sepultura – Quadra

Nuclear Blast

Brazilian death metal legends Sepultura have been something of an ever-present at the heavier end of the guitar music spectrum ever since their breakthrough in the mid-1990s with huge albums like Arise and Roots, churning out no fewer than 14 studio albums since their 1986 debut Morbid Visions.

New album Quadra takes their tally to 15 and marks their first full-length release since 2017's Machine Messiah. Set to arrive in stores on February 7th, Quadra is available in a variety of formats including standard and deluxe CDs, a CD/Blu-ray box set, and two vinyl versions – one a 2LP set on black vinyl, the other featuring two vinyl picture discs.


Various Artists – AJX500

Acid Jazz

Anyone who remembers the excellent Totally Wired compilation series from Eddie Piller's Acid Jazz label will no doubt be pleased to see the launch of a brand new compilation AJX500, which features eight new slices of jazz-tinged funky goodness from the label's roster, as one as one golden oldie from the imprint's earlier days.

Lightning Orchestra, Soul Revivers and Brand New Heavies all feature, as does an exclusive new track from Toast of London star Matt Berry. The new compilation is available on black vinyl only and arrives in stores on February 7th.