March 30, 2018

This Month's Vinyl Picks: April 2018
by James

by James Forryan

hmv London; 30/03/2018


"Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

This Month's Vinyl Picks: April 2018

Kylie, Manic Street Preachers, Daniel Avery and the return of Dr. Octagon are amongst the best vinyl releases coming your way in April...


Kylie Minogue - Golden

Darenote / BMG

Australia's finest returns with her 14th studio album this month and while Golden isn't a total departure from the catchy synth-pop that has made her one of the most successful artists ever to emerge from down under, her decision to record some of the album's sessions in Nashville has clearly rubbed off on some of the album's songs. There's a distinct country vibe to songs like 'Dancing', which Minogue has described as “Dolly Parton standing on a dancefloor”, and there's plenty more evidence of the Nashville influence creeping into the 12 songs on her latest album.

Golden is available on no fewer than seven formats, including a cassette and four vinyl versions: a standard version on black vinyl, a super-deluxe CD/Vinyl box set, and two limited editions – one pressed onto clear vinyl, the other a picture disc. All are available to pre-order from our online store and will hit the shelves on April 6th.

Resistance Is Futile

Manic Street Preachers: Resistance is Futile


The Welsh trio are back once again this month with their 13th studio album, Resistance is Futile. Dave Eringa, who has been working with the band on and off since 1993's Gold Against the Soul, returns to produce the new album, which includes the singles 'International Blue', 'Distant Colours' and 'Dylan & Caitlyn'.

Two vinyl versions are available – one a standard black edition, the other a limited edition version pressed onto white vinyl. Both are due to arrive along with all other formats on April 13th.

Song for Alpha

Daniel Avery - Song for Alpha


Daniel Avery's stunning debut album Drone Logic arrived with little to no fanfare at the back end of 2013, but still managed to find its way onto numerous 'best of' lists thanks to its hypnotic rhythms and infectious hooks. The album's success seemed to surprise Avery as much as anyone else and the DJ/producer has taken his time to craft a follow-up, which is finally set to arrive this month.

Song for Alpha is due to make its arrival in stores on April 6th on both CD and vinyl, the latter being a standard black vinyl edition. If you've yet to encounter Avery's music we can't recommend Drone Logic highly enough and if what we've heard so far from Song for Alpha is anything to go by, his sophomore album should be classed as an essential purchase.

The Deconstruction

Eels - The Deconstruction

E Works

When Eels frontman Mark Oliver Everett decided to take a break after the band's thirteenth album in 2014, even Everett himself wondered whether the self-imposed sabbatical might turn into retirement. Fortunately for Eels fans everywhere, that didn't turn out to be the case and this month Everett and his band return from a four-year hiatus with their brand new album, The Deconstruction.

Featuring their new single 'Today is the Day', the album arrives in stores on all formats on April 6th, including two beautifully designed vinyl editions. One is a double-gatefold version pressed onto 10” translucent yellow vinyl, the other a deluxe box set that includes a double gatefold with a 12” pair of discs (pressed onto pink vinyl at 45rpm), a lyric booklet and artwork prints.

Moosebumps: An Exploration Into Modern Day Horripilation

Dr. Octagon - Moosebumps: An Exploration Into Modern Day Horripilation

Caroline International

A full 18 years after Kool Keith's extra-terrestrial, time-travelling gynaecologist released his critically-acclaimed debut LP, Dr. Octagon returns to terrorise the rap scene with a brand new album this month. Recruiting the team that produced the seminal Dr. Octogonecologyst – namely producer Dan the Automator and the all-time heavyweight champion of scratching himself, DJ Qbert - the new album sees Kool Keith's character resurrected after his 'death' at the hands of another Keith character, Dr. Dooom, and back to cause mayhem on the hospital wards once again.

Titled Moosebumps: An Exploration Into Modern Day Horripilation, the new album is due to arrive in stores on April 6, including a standard black vinyl edition.

Evil Spirits

The Damned - Evil Spirits


Punk pioneers The Damned hold the distinction of being the first British punk band to release a single with their 1976 song 'New Rose', but it had been nearly a decade since their last album before Evil Spirits was announced in January this year. The new album is their 11th in total and was produced by none other than Tony Visconti, best known for the many albums he produced for David Bowie.

The new album includes 12 brand new tracks including the singles 'Devil in Disguise', 'Standing on the Edge of Tomorrow' and 'Look Left', and is set to arrive in stores on all formats on April 13th, including an LP pressed onto black vinyl. The band will also be holding a Q&A at our Oxford Street store – you can find details on how to attend here.

The $5.98 EP: Garage Days Re-revisited

Metallica - The $5.98 EP: Garage Days Re-revisited


Metal legends Metallica continue their programme of vinyl reissues this month with a newly remastered version of their 1987 EP, which is due to arrive in stores on April 13th. Recorded shortly after the death of bassist Cliff Burton, the EP is their first release to feature Burton's replacement Jason Newstead and consists of cover versions that the band recorded with their new band member in the run-up to their appearance at Donnington's Monsters of Rock festival that year.

The songs covered include Diamond Head's 'Helpless', Budgie's 'Crash Course in Brain Surgery' and Killing Joke's 'Wait', but the latter wasn't included on the original UK release since the rules stated in those days that an EP couldn't be longer than four tracks. As such, this is the first time the EP has been released in the UK in its intended form and is available as either a standard black vinyl version or a limited edition pressed onto orange vinyl, as well as other formats including CD and cassette.

Bring It On

Gomez: Bring It On (20th anniversary reissue)


Hey, 90s kids, want to feel old? Well, this year marks a full two decades since the release of the debut album by Gomez. Bring It On was released in 1998 and earned rave reviews thanks to its lo-fi aesthetic, bluesy riffs and Ben Ottewell's distinctive, rasping vocals, even beating off competition from the likes of Massive Attack and The Verve to win that year's Mercury Music Prize.

The reissue is set to arrive in stores on April 20 on all formats including CD, a deluxe CD box set and a double LP vinyl edition, all featuring newly remastered versions of the album's 12 tracks including 'Get Myself Arrested', 'Whippin' Piccadilly' and '78 Stone Wobble'.

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Complete Recordings

Various Artists - The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Complete Recordings


Our final pick this month is this whopping new box set featuring the entirety of Howard Shore's score for the first instalment of Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings trilogy, marking the first time the film score has been available on vinyl. The 5LP box set features over 180 minutes of music from the film pressed onto red vinyl, including Enya's Oscar-winning 'May it Be', issued along with a booklet and housed in a lavish box with red leather style spine.

There's also a reissued CD box set version set to be released on the same day and both are due to arrive in stores on April 6th.