August 1, 2018

This Month's Vinyl Picks: August 2018
by James

by James Forryan

hmv London; 01/08/2018


"Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

This Month's Vinyl Picks: August 2018

Kanye West, Deaf Havana and the soundtrack for Star Trek: Discovery are amongst the best new vinyl releases coming your way in August...


Kanye West: Ye

Virgin EMI Records

Love him or loathe him, Kanye West still has plenty to say as an artist and even if his recent controversial proclamations have cause some fans to lose patience with the mercurial rapper, that didn't stop his latest mini-album from becoming one of the most-streamed albums of the year so far. A physical release has been slower to arrive but his latest offering, simply titled Ye, was released on CD in July and finally makes its way onto vinyl this month. The 12” version on black vinyl is due to make its arrival in stores on August 10th.


Deaf Havana: Rituals

So Recordings

After four albums that have seen Deaf Havana steadily embedding themselves in the collective psyche of the record-buying public, James Veck-Gilodi and co. have decided to shake things up a little on their fifth full-length offering. Guitars dialled back to make way for fizzing synths and anthemic pop melodies, Rituals looks set to be the band's most accessible and upbeat album yet.

The new album is set to arrive in stores on August 3rd and the vinyl version is a limited edition LP pressed onto pink vinyl available exclusively at hmv.

Star Trek Discovery (hmv Exclusive) Limited Edition Vinyl

Jeff Russo - Star Trek: Discovery OST

Lakeshore Records

Star Trek: Discovery has managed to breathe new life into the much-loved sci-fi franchise and the show's first series was a big hit with Star Trek fans, with a second season already on the way and due to premiere in January 2019.

In the meantime though you'll be able to get your hands on Jeff Russo's incredible soundtrack for the show in the form of this stunning 2LP set pressed onto 'intergalactic starburst' vinyl. A limited edition on 140g vinyl with gatefold outer sleeve and printed inner sleeves, this is another hmv exclusive and it'll likely disappear fast. Consider yourselves warned...

Living in Extraordinary Times

James: Living In Extraordinary Times


Manchester-based indie types James return with their 15th album this month, the rather aptly-named Living In Extraordinary Times. Co-produced by Charlie Andrew (Alt J, Rae Morris) and composer-turned-producer Beni Giles, the new album features new single 'Hank' and sees longtime collaborator Brian Eno putting in an appearance on 'Coming Home (pt 2)'.

The album is set to arrive in stores on August 3rd and is available on several formats including cassette, a standard black vinyl edition and a limited edition version featuring a grey variation of the album's sleeve, pressed onto magenta-coloured vinyl.

Avengers: Infinity War

Alan Silvestri: Avengers Infinity War


Alan Silvestri's sweeping score for the latest Avengers movie arrived on CD in May this year and has yet to be given a vinyl release until now, but it was worth the wait. Silvestri's score is set to arrive in stores on August 31st in the form of this stunning limited edition picture disc and includes the full orchestral soundtrack from the latest Marvel blockbuster.

Dissolution (Hmv Exclusive)

The Pineapple Thief: Dissolution


Bruce Soord's prog-rock outfit The Pineapple Thief are set to release their 12th studio album Dissolution this month which, like its 2016 predecessor Your Wilderness, features The Porcupine Tree / King Crimson drummer Gavin Harrison. Recorded between Soord's studio in Somerset and Harrison's Bourne Place studio in London, the album includes the recently-unveiled 'Far Below' and an appearance from former David Bowie guitarist David Torn, who adds his weird and wonderful sounds to 'White Mist'.

The album is set to arrive in stores on all formats on August 31st, including a standard black vinyl version and a limited edition white vinyl version available exclusively at hmv.

Joy As an Act of Resistance.

Idles: Joy As An Act Of Resistance

Partisan Records

Bristol punks Idles unleashed their exhilarating debut album Brutalism just last year, but already the band are back with another helping of furious guitars, infectious hooks and brilliant noise on sophomore LP Joy As An Act Of Resistance. Produced once again by Paul 'Space' Frazer, the new album includes singles 'Colossus' and 'Samaritans' and is described somewhat colourfully by frontman Joe Talbot as “a brave naked smile in this sh*tty new world”.

The new is album set to land on the shelves on August 31st and alongside the standard LP there's also a deluxe vinyl version available, pressed onto 180g black vinyl with a sleeve that includes 8 interchangeable artwork cards which can be slotted into the sleeve, allowing to to choose your own cover for the album.

Ólafur Arnalds: Re:member

Ólafur Arnalds: Re:member

Decca Classics

Icelandic producer and multi-instrumentalist released his debut album Eulogy for Evolution in 2007 and since then he's turned his considerably talented hand to all kinds of projects, from his work with Janus Rasmussen in experimental electronica duo Kiasmos to writing soundtracks for films and television, including Ronald Krauss' 2013 movie Gimme Shelter and ITV's hit crime drama Broadchurch. In the meantime he's also released a further two albums under his own name and is now gearing up to release his fourth, Re:member.

Created using his new 'Stratus' system which uses software to link a piano to two further pianos which generate randomised notes triggered by those played on the first, Re:member adds an unusual twist on Arnalds' trademark mellow soundscapes. The album contains 12 brand new compositions and is set to arrive on CD and vinyl on August 24th.

Off the Wall

Michael Jackson: Off The Wall

Sony Music CMG

Neither Michael Jackson nor his music need any introduction from us, so we'll get right to the point: this month offers the opportunity to get your hands on several of Jackson's classic albums in picture disc form with Off the Wall, Thriller, Bad, Dangerous, Invincible and HIStory all set to be reissued and make their arrival in stores on August 24th. Off the Wall, Thriller and Bad are available as single double-sided picture discs, while his later albums Dangerous, Invincible and HIStory are packaged as a 2LP set. You can find all of them here in our online store.

Speak & Spell: 12" Singles Collection

Depeche Mode: Speak & Spell 12” Singles Collection

Sony Music Entertainment

Having recently embarked on a programme of vinyl reissues across their entire back catalogue, this month there is more vinyl goodness on the way from Depeche Mode as the band launch a new collection of box sets. Each set is themed around one of their albums and includes all the singles from that album on 12” vinyl, presented in a numbered, limited edition box.

The first two box sets revolve around the band's debut Speak & Spell (pictured here) and its follow-up A Broken Flame, both of which are set to arrive in stores on August 31st. The others are set to be released over the next couple of years, but as yet there are no confirmed release dates for the rest of the album box sets so keep your eyes peeled...