News - August 21, 2014

Deerhoof announce new album La Isla Bonita
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Deerhoof announce new album La Isla Bonita

Offbeat indie foursome Deerhoof have announced full details of their new album, which is to be titled La Isla Bonita. 

The San Francisco quartet will release their 12th studio album on November 3rd in the UK and November 4th in the US and Canada, it is the follow-up to their 2012 album Breakup Song. 

The 10-track effort was produced by Nick Sylvester, formerly of alternative punk rockers Mr. Dream, speaking about the album, the band's drummer Greg Saunier said: "No band is an island. Felt like one sometimes, in those budgetless and obscure early days, Satomi (Matsuzaki - singer) and me locked in the basement trying to figure out how our clashing personalities and ideas could turn into a band."

He continued: "If we hadn’t had that crazed mid-’90s Bay Area punk scene to call home, I doubt we’d still be here to chat about a 20th anniversary. We don’t set out to create masterpieces. The Deerhoof fan is a thrill-seeker. This is the latest volley in an ongoing conversation we’ve been honored to hold for 20 years."

The band have also unveiled the record's first single 'Exit Only', which you can hear by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking. 


The tracklisting for La Isla Bonita is as follows:

'Paradise Girls'
'Mirror Monster'
'Last Fad'
'Tiny Bubbles'
'Exit Only'
'Big House Waltz'
'God 2'
'Black Pitch'
'Oh Bummer'


The Runners Four
The Runners Four Deerhoof

More Articles

View All