News - August 5, 2014

Flaming Lips reveal full line-up for Sgt. Pepper's project
by James
by James hmv London, Bio "Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

Flaming Lips reveal full line-up for Sgt. Pepper's project

The Flaming Lips have revealed the full list of contributors for their remake of The Beatles' classic 1967 LP, Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. The album, entitled With A Little Help From My Fwends, is set for release through Warner Bros. on October 21 this year. The personnel list for the album contains a few surprises, including Miley Cyrus, who will feature on 'Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds' along with Moby, as well as the album's closing track, 'A Day in the Life'.

Other contributors include My Morning Jacket, Dinosaur Jr.'s J Mascis and Tool / Perfect Circle mainman James Maynard Keenan.

The album is the latest in Wayne Coyne & Co.'s ongoing project of covering albums in their entirety, having already done the same with King Crimson's In the Court of the Crimson King and The Stone Roses' eponymous debut.

The full tracklist is below, and it's quite something...

With a Little Help From My Fwends

1. 'Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band' (feat. My Morning Jacket, Fever the Ghost, and J Mascis)
2. 'With a Little Help from My Friends' (feat. The Flaming Lips, Black Pus, and The Autumn Defense)
3. 'Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds' (feat. Miley Cyrus, Moby, and The Flaming Lips)
4. 'Getting Better' (feat. Dr. Dog and Chuck Inglish)
5. 'Fixing a Hole' (feat. Electric Wurms)
6. 'She’s Leaving Home' (feat. Phantogram and Juliana Barwick)
7. 'Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!' (feat. The Flaming Lips, Maynard James Keenan, and Sunbears)
8. 'Within You Without You' (feat. Birdflower and Morgan Delt)
9. 'When I’m Sixty-Four' (feat. The Flaming Lips and more)
10. 'Lovely Rita' (feat. Tegan & Sara and Stardeath and White Dwarves)
11. 'Good Morning, Good Morning' (feat. Zorch, Grace Potter, and more)
12. 'Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)' (feat. Foxygen and MGMT)
13. 'A Day in the Life' (feat. The Flaming Lips and Miley Cyrus)

More Articles

View All