previews... - January 2, 2020 Previews: Albums of 2020 - Indie
by James
by James hmv London, Bio "Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor, Previews: Albums of 2020 - Indie

Over the next few days, we'll be previewing 60 of the best albums you can expect to hear in 2020. Almost all of them will come out, some inevitably won't, but they are all worth getting excited about.

We continue today with 10 of the most exciting indie albums heading your way in 2020...



Title: Foolish Loving Spaces

Release date: January 31st

Pre-Order Here. 

Stockport indie types Blossoms have scored a Top 5 in the UK with both of their albums so far – their debut LP reaching the summit on the UK Album Chart on its release in 2016. That's the kind of form they'll be hoping to emulate when they unleash their third full-length effort at the beginning of the year.

Foolish Loving Spaces arrives on January 17th and sees the band hooking up in the studio once again with The Coral's James Skelly, who returns to production duties on the new LP to celebrate a hat-trick of albums recorded with the returning five-piece.


Gabrielle Aplin

Title: Dear Happy

Release date: January 17th

Pre-Order Here. 

Last seen discussing her love of Beck on our podcast series at the very end of 2019, Gabrielle Aplin has been keeping herself busy since her last album, 2015's Light Up the Dark, releasing a handful of singles and EPs along the way, and has made some big changes in the years since – not least her departure from former label Parlophone to concentrate on her own label and working with other artists and producers.

Her third album is set to be her first full-length release on Never Fade Records, the label she originally co-founded with James Barnes in 2010, and includes her recent single 'Losing Me', which features an appearance from JP Cooper (more on him in a moment). Given the title Dear Happy, the new LP makes its arrival in stores on January 17th.


JP Cooper

Title: TBC

Release date: TBC

One of the more speculative entries on this list, JP Cooper has yet to confirm a release date for the follow-up to his 2017 debut Raised Under Grey Skies, let alone a title, but it is coming up to three years since its arrival and although there's been no new album news yet, there is a big clue that Cooper could be returning to action in the near future.

The singer recently announced a 10-date UK tour, kicking off in Glasgow on April 15th and winding its way down to Brixton before heading for a handful of dates in Spain, Switzerland and France. Could we be in for a new album before then, or will he be road-testing new songs for a later release? We'll find out soon enough.



Title: More. Again. Forever.

Release date: January 17th

Pre-Order Here. 

Courteeners return in January with their sixth studio album after a four-year gap since their last full-length offering, 2016's Mapping the Rendezvous, and have already unleashed two of the new tunes from its 10-song tracklist in 'Better Man' and 'Heavy Jacket'.

Produced once again by the band's bassist/producer Joseph Cross, the new album finds the indie stalwarts in fine form and is set to land on the shelves in stores on January 17th.


Brian Fallon

Title: Local Honey

Release date: March 27th

Brian Fallon has already turned in two full-length albums and an EP since his output with The Gaslight Anthem began to dry up, although they did return briefly in 2018, but the industrious singer-songwriter from New Jersey has wasted no time in 2018's solo effort Sleepwalkers by announcing that his third solo album will be arriving in March.

Local Honey was announced in December and includes his new single 'You Have Stolen My Heart' amongst its tracklist. By the time it lands on March 27th, Fallon will already be a week into an extensive tour that will cover North America, Europe and the UK, ending with a show at London's O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire on May 23rd.


Gerry Cinamon

Title: The Bonny

Release date: April 10th

Pre-Order Here. 

Scottish singer-songwriter Gerry is one of the more unusual propositions to emerge in recent years, blending a range of styles and channelling everything from Bob Dylan to The La's and Simon & Garfunkel, marking him out as a unique presence on the UK's music scene. His distaste for publicity hasn't stopped in from pulling huge sing-along crowds at gigs all over the country and after the word-of-mouth success of his 2017 debut LP Erratic Cinematic, the Glaswegian troubadour is back in April with its follow-up.

The Bonny – meaning The Bonfire, for the non-Scots amongst you - is set to arrive on April 10th and features recent singles 'Canter', 'Sun Queen' and 'Dark Days', as well as its Dylan-esque title track. One to keep an eye out for as Spring 2020 rolls around.


Bombay Bicycle Club

Title: Everything Else Has Gone Wrong

Release date: January 17th

Pre-Order Here. 

Back in 2016 when Bombay Bicycle Club announced their intention to go on hiatus, it had already been three years since their most recent album and while hardcore fans remained hopeful that a break was all it was, privately the band themselves seemed less convinced: “We sold all our equipment. To all intents and purposes we had broken up”, guitarist Jamie MacColl recently told NME.

A conversation about a tour to celebrate the 10th anniversary proved to be the spark that relit the band's fire and, 18 months later, they're gearing up to release album No. 5 their first in six years. Given the title Everything Else Has Gone Wrong, their comeback LP is scheduled to land in stores on January 17th.


The Big Moon

Title: Walking Like We Do

Release date: January 10th

Pre-Order Here. 

One of the first noteworthy albums set to be hitting the shelves in stores early next year comes courtesy of The Big Moon, who technically appeared on two albums in 2017 – their own debut LP Love in the 4th Dimension and Marika Hackman's second album I'm Not Your Man – and are set to release their own sophomore effort in the second week of the year.

The all-female London-based quartet unleash Walking Like We Do on January 10th and while it won't feature the band's recent version of festive favourite 'Carol of the Bells', it does include the singles 'Take A Piece', 'It's Easy Then' and 'Your Light.


Mystery Jets

Title: A Billion Heartbeats

Release date: April 3rd

Pre-Order Here. 

Originally scheduled to arrive in 2019, the seventh album from Mystery Jets was postponed along with its supporting tour when singer Blaine Harrison was rushed to hospital in London for emergency surgery. Thankfully, all went well and the rescheduled tour is set to commence in April, a week after the new album arrives on April 3rd.

A Billion Heartbeats includes 10 new tracks from the indie favourites, including their recent single 'Screwdriver', which first made its arrival in August 2019, a month before Harrison's surgery. No doubt there will be more new sings unveiled before the album's arrival in the Spring.



Title: Sanctuary

Release date: January 31st

North London's finest return with their third full-length effort in January, which will feature 10 shiny new tracks from the alt-pop four-piece, including the recently released 'Everything and More', which will serve as the new album's opening salvo.

Announced in October, new LP Sanctuary is produced by Bombay Bicycle Club's Jack Steadman and is set to arrive in stores on January 31st, after which they'll be kicking off a run of dates in the UK and Europe before heading down under for a handful of shows in Australia and New Zealand.

More Articles

View All previews... previews... previews... previews...