May 23, 2017 previews... 10 of June's Best Albums
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 23/05/2017

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows. previews... 10 of June's Best Albums

Katy Perry, Royal Blood, Lorde and All Time Low are among the artists with new albums coming in June. 

How Did We Get So Dark?

Royal Blood - How Did We Get So Dark?

Out June 16th

After the colossal success of their self-titled debut album, the Brighton duo have taken their time with a follow-up, but it emerges next month.

The album was written in instrumental form during sessions in Brighton, Hollywood, Los Angeles and Nashville and then recorded with M83 producer Jolyon Thomas in Brussels and with original producer Tom Dalgety in London.

The LP’s 10 tracks include new single ‘Lights Out’ and live favourite ‘Hook, Line And Sinker’.


Katy Perry - Witness

Out June 9th

The superstar singer unveils the long-awaited follow-up to 2013's PRISM next month. 

The albums includes hit singles 'Bon Appetit', 'Swish Swish' and 'Chained To The Rhythm' and features guest appearances from Skip Marley, Migos and Nicki Minaj as well as songs written with Max Martin, Sia and Duke Dumont. 

Last Young Renegade (Hmv Exclusive Sleeve)

All Time Low - Last Young Renegade

Fueled By Ramen

After upping sticks from Hopeless Records and hopping over to Atlantic Records, the Baltimore pop-punks return with a seventh studio album.

This time the foursome have enlisted the help of PVRIS producer Blake Harnage and a guest appearance from Tegan & Sara for the album, which sees the band embrace electronics and a more cinematic sound.




Lorde - Melodrama

Out June 16th

It’s been four years since Ella Marija Lani Yelich-O'Connor arrived on the scene with the startlingly good Pure Heroine and she’s not rushed her follow-up, but we finally get out hands on it next month.

Recorded with Bleachers and Fun man Jack Antonoff and Joel Little, who produced her debut, the singer’s new LP is a confident, bold step forward of quirky pop, as demonstrated on new single ‘Green Light’.



Lindsey Buckingham Christine McVie

Lindsey Buckingham Christine McVie - Lindsey Buckingham Christine McVie

Out June 9th

With Stevie Nicks currently on a lengthy world tour and not available to contribute to a new Fleetwood Mac album, Lindsey Buckingham and a back in the fold Christine McVie have teamed up to record an album of duets.

The album was recorded at The Village Studios in Los Angeles and also features Buckingham and McVie's bandmates Mick Fleetwood and John McVie on drums and bass, meaning only Nicks did not contribute to the album from Fleetwood Mac.


London Grammar - Truth Is A Beautiful Thing

Out June 9th

It’s been four years since the trio’s spellbinding debut If You Wait, but they make a welcome return next month with Truth Is A Beautiful Thing.

To help them get there they’ve teamed up with a series of super producers, including Paul Epworth, dance maestro Jon Hopkins and hotly tipped duo My Riot.

The album includes singles ‘Rooting For You’ and ‘Big Picture, while the deluxe edition will include a cover of The Verve’s classic ‘Bittersweet Symphony’.



Fleet Foxes - Crack-Up

Out June 16th

It’s been a cool six years since the Seattle folkers’ second LP Helplessness Blues, time which has seen the band’s former drummer Josh Tillman has built a successful solo career as Father John Misty and frontman Robin Pecknold go back to college.

The album was co-produced the band's frontman Robin Pecknold and multi-instrumentalist Skyler Skjelset and was recorded in studios across America, including New York's famed Electric Lady Studios.

It contains nine tracks in all, with three clocking in at over six minutes in length.


Gone Now

Bleachers - Gone Now

Out June 2nd

Jack Antonoff’s pop rock solo project gets a second outing next month with Gone Now, which includes new single ‘Don’t Take The Money’.

Carly Rae Jepsen, Jillian Michaels and Lorde, with whom Antonoff has spent the last year working with, all lending their voices to the album for backing vocals.

Dua Lipa

Dua Lipa - Dua Lipa

Out June 2nd

It was originally due earlier this year, but the hotly-tipped popstar’s debut album finally arrives next month.

Among the six singles on the album are hits 'Hotter than Hell', 'Blow Your Mind (Mwah)' and 'Lost in Your Light', while there are guest appearances from MNEK and Miguel.


Rise Against - Wolves

Out June 9th

The firebrand punks return to their angry roots with Wolves, the eighth full-length effort of their career.

For the follow-up to 2014’s The Black Market, the band have turned to Nick Raskulinecz, the producer best known for his work with Foo Fighters and Korn.