May 31, 2017

This Month's Vinyl Picks: June 2017
by James

by James Forryan

hmv London; 31/05/2017


"Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

This Month's Vinyl Picks: June 2017

June is set to be a bumper vinyl month at hmv, with Vinyl Week kicking off on June 9th and ending with a series of exclusive vinyl editions - the first of which you can find here. We'll also have loads of offers on dozens of vinyl titles so it's a great month to grab youself a bargain and fill a few holes in your collection!

Besides that though there are plenty of other exciting new vinyl releases coming in June, including new albums from Halsey and Royal Blood, the T2 Trainspotting soundtrack and anniversary reissues from Radiohead and U2. Here's our rundown of all the best vinyl coming your way over the next month...

OKNOTOK 1997-2017

Radiohead - OKNOTOK 1997 - 2017


Radiohead's 1997 album OK Computer was one of those rare records that achieves critical acclaim and commercial success in equal measure, but it also proved to be a high watermark for guitar bands in general, making the band a household name on both sides of the Atlantic. Two decades on from its release, the band have reopened the vaults and are set to release a remastered and expanded version of the album to mark OK Computer's 20th anniversary.

OKNOTOK 1997 - 2017 arrives on June 23rd and a 3-LP vinyl edition boasts some previously unreleased material, including the tracks 'Lift', 'Man of War' and 'I Promise', all of which were recorded during the OK Computer sessions but appear here for the first time.

T2 Trainspotting: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Various Artists - T2 Trainspotting


The soundtrack to Danny Boyle's 1996 adaptation of Irvine Welsh's novel Trainspotting was not only one of the very best of the 1990s, it also remains one of the best-selling soundtracks on vinyl in our stores to this day. The long-awaited sequel finally arrived in March this year and the DVD and Blu-ray are due to land in stores on June 5th, but you'll also be able to get your hands the new soundtrack from June 2nd, both on CD and vinyl.

This time around there a selection of retro tunes form the likes of Blondie, Queen, The Clash and Frankie Goes To Hollywood, as well as some newer ones from Young Fathers, High Contrast and Fat White Family, among many others, making the soundtrack for T2 Trainspotting every bit as compelling as its predecessor.

The Joshua Tree: 30th Anniversary Edition

U2 - The Joshua Tree: 30th Anniversary Edition

Island Records

U2's 1987 album The Joshua Tree turned the Dublin band into bona fide rock gods, becoming the fastest-selling rock album of all time on its release, and with the album having reached its 30th birthday in March this year the band are set to release a special 30th anniversary edition, including a monster-sized Super Deluxe edition comprising a 7-LP box set. The set features a newly remastered version of the album, live versions recorded at New York's Madison Square Garden, alternate mixes, outtakes and plenty more besides.

How Did We Get So Dark?

Royal Blood - How Did We Get So Dark?

Warner Bros. Records

Brighton-based duo Royal Blood are set to release the follow-up to their barnstorming self-titled debut this month and if the new songs we've heard so far are anything to go by, the follow-up looks set to be every bit as exciting. 'Lights Out' and 'Hook, Line & Sinker' offer a glimpse of what's to come and the vinyl version of their sophomore album How Did We Get So Dark? arrives along with other formats on June 16th.

Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

Halsey - Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

Virgin EMI Records

Halsey's debut album was a hit both here and in her native U.S. and she'll be looking to repeat that success with follow-up album Hopeless Fountain Kingdom, which is due to land on shelves on June 2nd. The new album features tracks written with the likes of The Weeknd, Benny Blanco, Phantogram's Josh Carter and Sia, and includes the singles 'Eyes Closed', 'Now or Never' and 'Strangers'. The LP version is a gorgeous-looking blue splatter vinyl also arrives on June 2nd, so if you're a fan of her recent output and want something a little special, this is definitely one to get your hands on.

I'm Not Your Man

Marika Hackman - I'm Not Your Man

Sub Pop

Marika Hackman's 2015 debut album saw the singer-songwriter showcasing her own dark take on nu-folk and having won plenty of acclaim from critics and audiences alike, Hackman has signed up with Sub Pop for her sophomore album, I'm Not Your Man, which arrives on June 2nd. Including the songs 'Boyfriend', 'My Lover Cindy' and 'Cigarette', the new album shows Hackman's growth as a songwriter and marks her out as one to keep an eye on over the next few years. The vinyl edition arrives on Friday along with the other formats.

Produced With Love

Joey Negro: Produced With Love

Z Records

DJ and producer has been known by many names over the course of his long and varied career – Jakatta, Doug Willis, Raven Maize and The Sunburst Band, to name just a handful – but he is probably best-known to most as Joey Negro, under which name he has been dropping dancefloor-fillers for more than two decades now. The last few years have seen him release a couple of remix compilations under the Joey Negro moniker, Remixed With Love volumes 1 and 2, but this month he returns with an album of brand new material, which includes his recent tracks 'Won't Let Go' and 'Prove That You're Feeling Me'. A must-have for any discerning house DJ.

Purple Rain

Prince - Purple Rain


As the album that made Prince one of the most famous musicians on the planet, Purple Rain needs no introduction from us, but even if this is a record that you know inside out, what you may not know is that in 2015, just under a year prior to his death, Prince took it upon himself to give his 1984 album the remaster treatment, handling the task himself at his very own Paisley Park complex. The results are predictably impressive and you'll be able to hear for yourself when the remastered vinyl edition lands on shelves on June 23rd.


Alt-J: Relaxer


After the huge success of their first two albums, Alt-J return this week their third, Relaxer, which arrives on June 2nd. At just eight tracks and a shade under 40 minutes, this is a much more concise offering than their previous album This Is All Yours, but don't let that put you off – there is zero fat here and the album includes some real gems, including the single 'In Cold Blood' and an intriguing take on 'The House of the Rising Sun'. The LP also features artwork lifted from the cult Japanese video game LSD: Dream Simulator and is pressed onto heavyweight black vinyl.

The Journey Man

Goldie - The Journey Man

Metalheadz / Cooking Vinyl

One of the key figures behind the emergence of jungle and drum 'n' bass in the 1990s, Goldie is almost certainly the scene's most recognisable figurehead and his 1995 album Timeless remains a touchstone for the genre. This month he returns with his first album under the Goldie name since 1998, The Journey Man, which includes 16 brand new tracks and guest appearances from Ulterior Motive, Natalie Duncan and Tyler Lee Daly, amongst several others. The album arrives in stores on June 16th and is available as a 2-LP edition on heavyweight black vinyl.