June 20, 2018

Best Albums of July 2018: hmv.com previews the top 10...
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 20/06/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Best Albums of July 2018: hmv.com previews the top 10...

Years & Years, Bury Tomorrow, Tom Grennan and Deafheaven are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in July. 

Palo Santo

Years & Years - Palo Santo

Out July 6th

The pop trio follow up 2015's hugely successful debut LP Communion with a second full-length effort. 

The album, which features hit singles 'Sanctify' and 'If You're Over Me', sees the band teaming up with a range of production talent, including Kid Harpoon, Bastille/The Wombats man Mark Ralph, One Direction/Olly Murs key man Steve Mac and dance eccentric Two Inch Punch. 

Lighting Matches

Tom Grennan - Lighting Matches

Out July 6th

Grennan, best known for his collaborations with Chase & Status and  Bugzy Malone, goes it alone next month with the release of his debut album. 

Among the production talent Grennan has called on are Stormzy/Adele key man Fraser T Smith and Athlete frontman and George Ezra mentor Joel Pott. 


All Saints - Testament

Out July 27th

Fresh from the success of 2016's Red Flag, the reunited girl group drop their latest new LP. 

William Orbit and Rihanna/Jessie Ware collaborator Fred Ball are among the producers for the new album, which sees the band in a reflective mood. 


Black Flame

Bury Tomorrow - Black Flame

Out July 13th

The metalcore upstarts release their fifth studio album in July, their first LP for new label Music For Nations.

The album has been produced by Young Guns/Enter Shikari knob twiddler Dan Weller and sees the band embracing a more expansive sound. 



Halestorm - Vicious

Out July 27th

Lzzy Hale and her merry band of rockers follow up 2015's hit Into The Wild Life with a brand new effort. 

The album was put together last year at Nashville, Tennesse's Rock Falcon recording studio with producer Queens Of The Stone Age/Band Of Skulls man Nick Raskulinecz and sees the band stepping up their power and groove in a big way, as you can hear of new single 'Uncomfortable'. 

Lamp Lit Prose

Dirty Projectors - Lamp Lit Prose

Out July 13th

The much-loved indie experimentalists continue their prolific recent streak with Lamp Lit Prose, the eighth studio album of their career. 

Billed as the antidote to 2017's heartbroken self-titled LP, this album sees Dirty Projectors' maestro in happier form, backed, as ever, by Nat Baldwin and Mike Johnson.

Haim, indie-poppers Dear Nora, Latin troubadour Empress Of, Fleet Foxes' Robin Pecknold and former Vampire Weekend man Rostam Batmanglij are among the guests on the album.


The Hunna

Out July 13th

The rockers drop their second full-length in July, the follow-up to their powerhouse debut 100. 

Recorded with The Vaccines/Jake Bugg producer Duncan Mills, the album sees the band's songs taking a darker and richer turn. 

Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again

Various Artists - Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again

Out July 13th

The sequel to the hugely successful musical sees another batch of ABBA's biggest hits being covered by the cast. 

Among the tracks confirmed to appear are 'Waterloo', 'Dancing Queen' and 'Thank You For The Music'. 

Back Roads and Abandoned Motels

The Jayhawks - Back Roads and Abandoned Motels

Out July 13th

The reunited bluesy country rockers make in 10 albums and counting with the release of Back Roads and Abandoned Motels.

The album includes two new songs written by mainman Gary Louris, but mainly features songs co-written by Louris for previous projects. 

Among them are two songs written for the Dixie Chicks and others for Jakob Dylan, Ari Hest and Emerson Hart. 


Deafheaven - Ordinary Corrupt Human Love

Out July 13th

The arty black metallers follow up 2015's New Bermuda with an epic new LP. 

Producer and frequent collaborator Jack Shirley was in charge once again for the album, which takes its name from a line from Graham Greene's 1951 novel The End Of The Affair. 

The band's taste for the epic and meshing of genres looks undimmed, as you can hear on new 12-minute lead-off single 'Honeycomb', one of three tracks of the seven on the album that clock in at over 10 minutes in length...