previews... - June 23, 2020

Best Albums of July 2020: previews the top 10...
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Best Albums of July 2020: previews the top 10...

Rufus Wainwright, Dixie Chicks and Creeper are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in July...


Rufus Wainwright - Unfollow The Rules

Out July 10th


The eccentric singer-songwriter returns with his first album of original material since 2012's Out Of The Game. 

Produced by Bob Dylan/Suzanne Vega knob-twiddler Mitchell Froom, the album also features appearances from drummers Matt Chamberlain and Jim Keltner as well as guitarist Blake Mills.

Made in three acts, the album features singles 'Damsel In Distress' and 'Trouble In Paradise'. 

You can hear Wainwright talking in-depth about the making of the album on hmv's My Inspiration podcast, which is here. 


Dixie Chicks - Gaslighter

Out July 17th

Pre-Order Here. 


It’s been 14 years since the country superstars released an album of new material, but that changes next month. 

Produced by Jack Antonoff, the man at the controls for Taylor Swift’s Lover and Lana Del Rey’s Norman F***ing Rockwell, the album initially began life as a covers album, but has evolved in an album of new material.

Singer Natalie Maines has promised a forthright and spiky collection, inspired by the fact that each member of the band has been divorced since the release of their last LP. 

You can hear that on sassy comeback single 'Gaslighter':


Lianne La Havas - Lianne La Havas

Out July 17th

Pre-Order Here


It's been five years since La Havas' second LP Blood, but a follow-up finally arrives in the middle of next month. 

La Havas oversaw the album's production with assistance from long-term collaborator Matt Hales, co-producer Beni Giles and dance maestro Mura Masa.

The album includes a cover of Radiohead's 'Weird Fishes' as well as hit single 'Bittersweet'. 


Creeper - Sex, Death & the Infinite Void

Out July 31st

Pre-Order Here


After teasing that the band might be over and done at the close of their tour in support of debut LP Eternity, In Your Arms,  the goth-punks have returned with a second record. 

Produced by relative unknown Xander Barry, the album finds Will Gould and co in truly epic form, as you can hear on new single 'Be My End'. 


Neck Deep - All Distortions Are Intentional

Out July 24th

Pre-Order Here


The Welsh pop-punks follow up to 2017's The Peace And The Panic with a change in direction. 

Not only does the record shift away from the band's trademark pop-punk to incorporate wider influences, but it is also a concept album.

It tells the story of a loner named Jett, who lives in a place dubbed Sonderland, who suddenly finds love with a girl called Alice. 

Recorded in Monnow Valley in their native Wales, the LP sees the band teaming up with Ariana Grande/Panic! At The Disco producer Matt Squire


Bury Tomorrow - Cannibal

Out July 3rd

Pre-Order Here


The British metalcore types return with a sixth studio album at the start of next month. 

Recorded with Kids In Glass Houses/Enter Shikari man Dan Weller, the album finds the band in vicious form, as you'll note below on the title track...


Fontaines D.C. - A Hero's Death

Out July 31st

Pre-Order Here


The Irish pop-punks follow up the hugely acclaimed Dogrel with a new LP at the very end of July. 

Produced by Kate Tempest/La Roux key collaborator Dan Carey, the 11-track effort showcases the band's ability to mix raw power and elegance for a sound that's all their own. 


Margo Price - That's How Rumours Get Started

Out July 10th

Pre-Order Here


The country star won great fanfare for 2017's All American Made and a successor arrives next month. 

Recorded with country firebrand Sturgill Simpson, the album is Price's first since her departure from Jack White's Third Man Recordings for Warner Brothers imprint Loma Vista. 

Written and recorded with husband Jeremy Ivey as well as a band that includes guitarist Matt Sweeney and legendary bassist Pino Palladino, the album finds Price in vintage form. 


Alanis Morissette - Such Pretty Forks In The Road

Out July 31st

Pre-Order Here


Though she's been hard at work celebrating the 25th anniversary of her all-conquering 1995 LP Jagged Little Pill, the Canadian singer-songwriter has also delivered a new record. 

Such Pretty Forks In The Road is Morissette's ninth studio album and her first since 2012's Havoc and Bright Lights. 

Recorded by up and coming Australian Alex Hope and British knob-twiddler Catherine Marks, the LP was preceded by singles 'Reasons I Drink' and 'Smiling', the latter of which was written for Morisette's planned musical adaptation of Jagged Little Pill. 


Courtney Marie Andrews - Old Flowers

Out July 24th

Pre-Order Here


The Arizona singer unveils her fifth LP towards the end of July. 

Produced by Andrew Sarlo, whose credits include Bon Iver and Big Thief, Andrews is joined on the record by Twain’s Matthew Davidson and Big Thief’s James Krivchenia.

Written in the wake of a demise of a long-term relationship, the 10-track record is described by Andrews as an "...album is about loving and caring for the person you know you can’t be with. It’s about being afraid to be vulnerable after you’ve been hurt."

More Articles

View All