News - March 2, 2015

Mumford & Sons to release new album Wilder Mind in May
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Mumford & Sons to release new album Wilder Mind in May

Mumford & Sons have announced full details of their third album Wilder Mind. 

The album will be released on May 4th, it is the follow-up to their 2012 album Babel, which you can preview on the right hand side of the page. 

Wilder Mind has been produced by James Ford, best known for his work with Arctic Monkeys, Haim and Klaxons. It was written by the band in London, Brooklyn and Texas, with some of the writing sessions taking place at the home of The National mainman Aaron Dresner. 

The album sees the band embracing different sounds, with keyboards, synthesisers and electric guitars all included, the band have also include live drums on the albunm and will tour with a drummer for the first time when they hit the road this summer. 

Speaking about the change in sound, frontman Marcus Mumford said: "Towards the end of the Babel tour, we’d always play new songs during soundchecks, and none of them featured the banjo, or a kick-drum. And demoing with Aaron meant that, when we took a break, we knew it wasn’t going to involve acoustic instruments."

He continued: "We didn’t say: ‘No acoustic instruments.’ But I think all of us had this desire to shake it up. The songwriting hasn’t changed drastically; it was led more by a desire to not do the same thing again. Plus, we fell back in love with drums! It’s as simple as that." 

You can see the album's artwork below:

The band have also announced a new live date for the UK. They will bring their travelling festival Gentlemen Of The Road to in Aviemore, Scotland on July 31st and August 1st. Performing alongside them will be Ben Howard, Primal Scream, The Maccabees, Simian Mobile Disco DJs, Lianne La Havas, Jack Garratt, King Charles and Honeyblood. For full details about the show, click here. 

Mumford & Sons will headline this summer's Reading and Leeds Festivals. For full tickets details, click here. 


The tracklisting for Wilder Mind is as follows:

'Tompkins Square Park'
'The Wolf'
'Wilder Mind'
'Just Smoke'
'Snake Eyes'
'Broad - Shouldered Beasts'
'Cold Arms'
'Only Love'
'Hot Gates'

Babel Mumford & Sons

More Articles

View All