November 23, 2018

This Week's New Albums: November 23rd 2018
by James

by James Forryan

hmv London; 23/11/2018


"Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

This Week's New Albums: November 23rd 2018

Rita Ora, Take That and Alfie Boe are among this week's new album releases...


Rita Ora – Phoenix


After a a troubled eights years in the making, Rita Ora has overcome all manner of obstacles in her way and finally releases her sophomore album today.

Phoenix features 12 new tracks including the singles 'Anywhere', 'Let You Love Me' and 'Girls', and includes contributions from Ed Sheeran, Liam Payne, Cardi B, Chali XCX, Avicii, Bebe Rexha and Julia Michaels.

Read our full preview here.


Take That – Odyssey


With next year marking 30 years of Take That, the Manchester 3-piece unveil a 27-track Greatest Hits collection which includes both remixed and newly reworked versions of some of their biggest hits.

Odyssey arrives in stores today and includes new versions of fan favourites 'Relight My Fire', 'Back For Good' and 'Pray', among many others.

Read our full preview here.

Alfie Boe: As Time Goes By

Alfie Boe – As Time Goes By

Decca Classics

The English tenor returns this week with a brand new collection, with the singer delivering his own unique versions of standards and show tunes. As Time Goes By features 12 new recordings including covers of 'Moonlight Serenade', 'Stompin' at the Savoy' and 'The Way You look Tonight'.

The new album also features guest appearances from Eastenders' Kara Tointon, Frasier's Kelsey Grammer and Broadway star Brennyn Lark.

Rise Up

Cliff Richard – Rise Up


It's nearly Christmas and that means two things: Santa Claus and Cliff Richard. Sadly, Santa doesn't have a new album out this year but Cliff is back and raring to go with his 46th studio album Rise Up.

The album contains 12 new tracks, including a duet with Olivia Newton John, plus 4 new orchestral arrangements of his classic hits performed with the The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, including 'Devil Woman' and 'The Minute You're Gone'.

Now That's What I Call Music! 101

Various Artists - Now That's What I Call Music 101


The popular compilation series gets its 101st entry today with the release of Now That's What I Call Music 101, which features 46 of the year's biggest hits from the likes of Calvin Harris, Jess Glynne, The 1975, Little Mix and many, many more.

Beyond the End

Ed Harcourt – Beyond The End

Point of Departure

The singer-songwriter returns this week with his eighth studio album Beyond the End. His first fully instrumental album, the new LP features 12 new tracks, including his recent single 'Duet For Ghosts', and includes appearances from Harcourt's violinist wife Gita Langley and cellist Amy Langley.

Unchained Melody

Roy Orbison and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – Unchained Melody

Sony Music CMG

After the success of Elvis Presley's If I Can Dream, last year's album of reworked Elvis classics with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, this year it's the turn of legendary singer Roy Orbison to get the orchestral treatment, with a new album featuring 15 classic tracks, all featuring the unique touch of of London's finest, arriving in stores today.

BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge 2018

Various Artists - BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge 2018

Ministry of Sound

The latest collection of live performances and unusual cover versions from Radio 1's legendary Maida Vale studios arrives in stores today and includes tracks from the likes of Years & Years, Christine and the Queens, Dua Lipa, Jorja Smith and George Ezra, among many others.

A Lovely Life to Live

Jools Holland/Marc Almond with The Rhythm & Blues Orchestra – A Lovely Life to Live


For years now the friendship formed between former Soft Cell frontman Marc Almond and former Squeeze keyboardist / beloved TV host Jools Holland has been producing the odd song here and there, but the pair have finally decided to do something with the material they've been stockpiling and the fruits of their labour arrive today in the form of this new collaborative album.

A Lovely Life to Live features a mixture of songs written by the duo and other well-known tracks – including Soft Cell hit 'Tainted Love' – given the boogie-woogie piano treatment from Jools and his Rhythm & Blues Orchestra.

Wham! Bang! Pow! Let's Rock Out!

Art Brut - Wham! Bang! Pow! Let's Rock Out!


Seven years on from their fourth studio album and five years after their 2013 Greatest Hits / covers combo album Art Brut Top of the Pops, the art punk fivesome return with 12 brand new tracks on their fifth studio album.

Manifesto of an Alchemist

The Flower Kings – Manifesto Of An Alchemist


The Swedish progressive rockers return this week their 13th studio album and their first new music for five years.

The Girl in the Spider's Web

Various Performers – The Girl In The Spider's Web

Sony Classical

The soundtrack to Fede Álvarez's new film detailing the continued adventures of hacker Lisbeth Salander arrives in stores today, featuring original music composed by Roque Baños.


Andy Mackay - 3Psalms

Good Deeds Music Ltd

The former Roxy Music saxophonist returns with his new project, and album of minimalist classical and electronic music based on the Bible's book of Psalms.

The Sound of Music

Laibach – The Sound of Music


The Slovenian avant-garde troupe are back, this time with a new album on which they put their own inimitable spin on the songs from the much-lived musical of the same name.