News - January 22, 2016

PJ Harvey announces new album The Hope Six Demolition Project
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

PJ Harvey announces new album The Hope Six Demolition Project

PJ Harvey has announced full details of her new album The Hope Six Demolition Project. 

The singer-songwriter's follow-up to 2011's Mercury Prize winning Let England Shake will be released on April 15th and can be pre-ordered on the right-hand side of the page. 

The album was recorded last year in residency at London’s Somerset House and saw Harvey work with long-time producers John Parish and Flood once again. You can see the album's artwork below:

View post on

During the writing of the album, Harvey visited Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, D.C., speaking about the writing of the album she said: "When I’m writing a song I visualise the entire scene. I can see the colours, I can tell the time of day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture."

She continued: "Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with."

You can a trailer for the album, which features the songs 'The Community Of Hope' and 'The Wheel' by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking. 


The tracklisting for The Hope Six Demolition Project is as follows:

'The Community of Hope'
'The Ministry of Defence'
'A Line in the Sand'
'Chain of Keys'
'River Anacostia'
'Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln'
'The Orange Monkey'
'The Ministry of Social Affairs'
'The Wheel'
'Dollar, Dollar'


The Hope Six Demolition Project
The Hope Six Demolition Project PJ Harvey

More Articles

View All