News - September 29, 2014

Röyksopp to release their final studio album in November
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Röyksopp to release their final studio album in November

Dance duo Röyksopp have announced that they will be releasing their fifth and final album in November of this year. 

The Swedish duo will release the album, which is titled The Inevitable End, on November 10th. It is the second LP from the duo in recent months following the release of Do It Again, their collaboration with Robyn, which came out earlier this year, which you can preview on the right of the page. You can hear the album's lead-off single 'Skulls' below. 

Speaking about the album, the duo's Svein Berge said: "With ‘The Inevitable End’ we've moved into a darker subject matter, with emphasis on the lyrical content. This candid approach feels very both personal, sincere and conclusive", with fellow member Torbjørn Brundtland adding: "With this album it became clear we wanted to make an album in a classical sense even if it's the last one we make."

Explaining why it's the duo's last album, Berge said: "We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format. In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We're not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us."

The Inevitable End will feature contributions from Jamie Irrepressible, Ryan James (Man Without Country), Norwegian singer songwriter Susanne Sundfør and Robyn.


The tracklisting for The Inevitable End is as follows:

'Monument' feat. Robyn
'Sordid Affair' feat. Ryan James, Man Without Country
'You Know I Have To Go' feat. Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles
'Save Me' feat. Susanne Sundfør
'I Had This Thing' feat. Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles
'Rong' feat. Robyn
'Here She Comes Again' feat. Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles
'Running To The Sea' feat. Susanne Sundfør
'Compulsion' feat. Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles
'Coup de Grace'
'Thank You'

Do It Again
Do It Again Röyksopp & Robyn

More Articles

View All