by Fear of Men

Released on Kanine Records

Brighton outfit Fear Of Men follow on from 2013's Early Fragments (cutting few apron strings along the way) and go full DIY, boasting writing, production and artwork credits on new album Loom.

The warm babbling brook of, lead singer, Jessica Weiss' soft warm vocals is a wash with Daniel Falvey's smooth glacial guitar and staccato drums. An aural soundscape that leaves you floating on idle daydreams despite the rip-tide that lurks beneath.

It's hardly surprising that a band coined from a mental illness offer anxiety fuelled content that give the album a self-conscious subconscious, despite the beauty that stains the surface.

Highlights include the juxtaposition of 'Tephra', comparable to The Beautiful South's Paul Heaton's best, as dream-pop flows smoothly despite the rocky path in which it is lead by Weiss' lyrics.

'Loom' offers a dreamscape to be lost in, escapism in audio leaving you uplifted and drained in equal measure amongst a haze of uncertainty.

by Scot hmv Brighton