News - September 24, 2014

The 2014 MOBO nominations in full
by James
by James hmv London, Bio "Like the legend of the Phoenix, I've just eaten a whole packet of chocolate HobNobs..." Editor,

The 2014 MOBO nominations in full

It's that time of year again and yesterday the fill list of nominations for the 2014 MOBO Awards was announced, with actor Idriss Elba becoming the first recipient of the brand new 'Inspiration Award', created this year by founder Kanya King. Speaking at yesterday's announcement the actor said: ''I want to say thank you so much, this is an amazing honour. I never thought I'd ever hold one of these. I think the spirit of MOBO is about growing and if I was just a musician then I wouldn't get one of these but if I am someone that believes in life expanding your horizons, just like MOBO is doing, and trying to inspire others to do the same then this is a very special award for me and I'm very thankful for it.''

The announcement saw Tinie Tempah and Sam Smith nominated for numerous awards, alongside the relatively unknown London duo Krept & Konan, who picked up four nominations in total.

Elsewhere, FKA Twigs received nominations for both Best Female and Best Newcomer, as well as Best Video for her song 'Two Weeks', while Katy B also picked up a couple of nominations for Best Female and Best Album.

This year also sees the introduction of the Best Grime category, which will be voted for by the public.
To vote for the award you can head to BBC Radio 1Xtra's website, who are sponsoring the new category.
Voting for all the other categories can be done here.

This year's awards are due to be broadcast on ITV on October 22nd. You can find the full list of nominations below...


Best Male Artist
Fuse ODG
Krept & Konan
Sam Smith
Tinie Tempah

Best Female Artist
FKA Twigs
Jessie J
Katy B
Marsha Ambrosius
Rita Ora

Best Album
Ghetts: Rebel With A Cause
Katy B: Little Red
Krept & Konan: Young Kingz
Sam Smith: In The Lonely Hour
Tinie Tempah: Demonstration

Best Newcomer (in association with HTC)
Ella Eyre
FKA Twigs
Jess Glynne
Little Simz
Melissa Steel
Meridian Dan
Raleigh Ritchie

Best International Artist
Chris Brown
Iggy Azalea
J Cole
Jhene Aiko
Kendrick Lamar
Nicki Minaj
Trey Songs

Best Song
Ed Sheeran ft. Pharrell: 'Sing'
Fuse ODG ft. Sean Paul: 'Dangerous Love'
Krept & Konan: 'Don't Waste My Time'
Meridian Dan ft. Big H & JME: 'German Whip'
Sam Smith: 'Stay With Me'

Best Video
FKA Twigs: 'Two Weeks'
Jacob Banks: 'Move With You'
Rudimental ft. Becky Hil: 'Powerless'
Scorcher ft. Wretch 32, Mercston & Ari: 'Work Get It'
Skepta ft. JME: 'That's Not Me'

Best R&B / Soul Act
Jessie Ware
Marsha Ambrosius
Sam Smith

Best Gospel Act
Annastasia Baker
J. Vessel
Kristyna Myles
Living Faith Connection Choir
Noel Robinson

Best Reggae Act
Stylo G
Tarrus Riley

Best Jazz Act
Andreas Varady
Jason Rebello
Peter Edwards
Zara McFarlane

Best Hip Hop Act
Krept & Konan
Professor Green
Tinie Tempah

Best African Act
Afrikan Boy
DJ Clock
Dr Sid
Fuse ODG
Mista Silva
Tiwa Savage
Wiz Kid
Yemi Alade

Best Grime Act (in association with BBC Radio 1Xtra)
Big Narstie
Lethal Bizzle
Meridian Dan



More Articles

View All