News - March 2, 2017

The Drums announce new album Abysmal Thoughts
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

The Drums announce new album Abysmal Thoughts

The Drums have announced full details of their new album, which is to be titled Abysmal Thoughts. 

The album is the follow-up to the band's 2014 effort Encyclopaedia and has been written and recorded by frontman Jonathan Pierce. 

It will be released on June 16th and will be available to pre-order on in the coming days. 

Abysmal Thoughts was made across a year and three months of home recording between Los Angeles and Pierce's cabin in upstate New York, the singer played all the instruments on the album himself.

You hear the LP's opening single 'Blood Under My Belt' by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking. You can see the album's artwork below:

Speaking about the LP, Pierce said: "I said I wanted to let life happen. Well, the universe listened and life began to f**k me real good! But honestly, I make the worst art when I’m comfortable. The stuff that resonates with me the longest, and that resonates with others, is always the stuff that comes out of my misery.”


The tracklisting for Abysmal Thoughts is as follows:

'I’ll Fight for Your Life'
'Blood Under My Belt'
'Heart Basel'
'Shoot the Sun Down'
'Head of the Horse'
'Under the Ice'
'Are U Fucked'
'Your Tenderness'
'Rich Kids'
'If All We Share (Means Nothing)'
'Abysmal Thoughts'


Encyclopedia The Drums

More Articles

View All