April 27, 2018

This Week's New Albums: April 27th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 27/04/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: April 27th 2018

Blossoms, Anne-Marie, DMA's and Janelle Monae are among the artists with new albums out this week.

Cool Like You

Blossoms - Cool Like You

Virgin EMI Records

The Stockport fivesome return with their second full-length effort this week.

The new LP sees the band embracing electronica wholeheartedly, channelling the new wave of Talk Talk and Prefab Sprout into the laddish indie of their earlier work.

For their second album, the band have reunited with The Coral frontman James Skelly for production duties.

Click here to read our full preview

Speak Your Mind

Anne-Marie - Speak Your Mind

Warner Music

The singer, best known for her collaborations with Ed Sheeran and Rudimental, finally gets around to releasing her debut album this week. 

Production talent involved on the album include frequent Olly Murs collaborator Steve Mac, R&B powerhouse MNEK and TMS, who’ve come up with some of Sigma, Little Mix and Jess Glynne’s biggest hits.

The album features hit singles ‘Ciao Adios’ and ‘Alarm’ as well as a collaboration with dance maverick Marshmello.

Dirty Computer

Janelle Monae - Dirty Computer


The eccentric R&B star unveils her first new album in five years, which includes hit singles 'Pynk' and 'Make Me Feel'.

Among the guests on the album are Brian Wilson, Grimes, Zoe Kravitz and Pharrell Williams. 

Click here to read our full preview.

For Now

DMA's - For Now


The Australian Britpop revivalists return with their second full-length effort this week, an album produced by The Presets’ Kim Moyes.

Big Tings

Skindred - Big Tings

Napalm Recordings

The ragga metallers drop their seventh studio album this week.

Reef frontman Gary Stringer and Motorhead guitarist Phil Campbell are among the guests on the album, which has been produced by My Vitriol/Sumo Cycle knob twiddler James Loughrey. 

You're Driving Me Crazy

Van Morrison and Joey DeFrancesco - You're Driving Me Crazy

Sony Music CMG

The veteran troubadour teams up with jazz virtuoso Joey DeFrancesco for this new collaboration, which sees the duo putting new spins on a series of standards, including classics from Cole Porter and Johnny Mercer.

Time to Be Alive

Matt Cardle - Time To Be Alive

Sony Music CMG

The X-Factor champ returns with his first new album in five years, an album he has made with Ellie Goulding/Olly Murs frequent collaborator Jim Elliot. 

The album sees Cardle opening up about his trouble with drug and alcohol addiction for a confessional and cathartic new LP.


We Are Scientists - Megaplex

100% Records

The indie duo return with a sixth studio album, produced again by Max Hart, the album sees the band fully embracing electronica. 

Armor of Light

Riot V - Armor Of Light

Nuclear Blast

The heavy metal stalwarts, once known as Riot, are back with a new album and a new line-up. 

It is Riot's second album not featuring long-time guitarist and founder Mark Reale who died in 2012.

When Legends Rise

Godsmack - When Legends Rise


The nu-metallers make it seven albums and counting this week with When Legends Rise, their first new album in four years.

Jesus Christ Superstar: Live in Concert

Various Artists - Jesus Christ Superstar: Live in Concert

Sony Music CMG

Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice's beloved musical is reworked and brought to life again with John Legend, Alice Cooper and Sara Bareilles among the key cast. 

Hip-hop: The Golden Era

Various Artists - Hip-hop: The Golden Era

Universal Music TV

72 hip-hop classics from between 1979 and 1999 are brought together on this four-disc compilation. 

Among the artists included are Public Enemy, Nas, N.W.A and The Notorious B.I.G. 

In the Rainbow Rain

Okkervil River - In The Rainbow Rain

ATO Records

The Texan folk collective, led by frontman Will Shelf, return with a new LP, the ninth of their career.

Produced by Alabama Shakes/The War On Drugs man Shawn Everett, the album sees Shelf teaming up with regular collaborators Benjamin Lazar Davis, Will Graefe, Sarah Pedinotti and Cully Symington. 


Sink the Ship - Persevere

Nuclear Blast

The Cleveland post-hardcore group come back firing with new album Perserverance. 

For You, for Me

Louise Dearman - For You, For Me

Big Hand

The singer, best known for her various roles in the West End, returns with a new album, this time taking on tracks from La La Land, Hamilton and Waitress among others.