August 31, 2018

This Week's New Albums: August 31st 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 31/08/2018

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: August 31st 2018

The Kooks, IDLES, Passenger and Muncie Girls are among the artists with new albums out this week.

Let's Go Sunshine

The Kooks - Let's Go Sunshine

Lonely Cat/KOBALT

The Kooks return with their first new LP in four years and have reverted back to the sunny indie pop of their earlier year, leaving behind the jagged hip-hop influenced sound they trialled on 2014's Listen. 

The album is the band's first on their own Lonely Cat Recordings and produced by Brandon Friesen. 

Click here to read our interview with the band


Troye Sivan - Bloom


The singer follows up his much-acclaimed debut album Blue Neighborhood with a brand new collection. 

Bloom sees the singer taking a serious step up, with production talent including Haim/Sky Ferreira man Ariel Rechtshaid, Max Martin disciple OzGo and electro whizz The Haxan Cloak. 

Ariana Grande and Aussie folktronica star Gordi both guest on the album, which features hit singles 'My, My, My' and 'Dance To This'. 

Fixed Ideals

Muncie Girls - Fixed Ideals

Code 7

The Exeter punks follow up their acclaimed debut From Caplan To Belsize with a fiery new collection, produced by Rolo Tomassi/Funeral For A Friend man Lewis Johns. 

Click here to read our interview with the band


Emma Blackery - Villains

RWG Records

The YouTuber turned singer-songwriter channels Ellie Goulding and Alanis Morisette on her debut full-length effort. 

Click here to read our interview with Blackery

Is This Thing Cursed?

Alkaline Trio - Is This Thing Cursed?


The goth-tinged punks unveil their first new album in five years and the ninth of their career to date.

Produced by Cameron Webb, the album sees the band on fiery form, with frontman Matt Skiba putting his pen to work against Donald Trump, the band's hometown of Chicago and the notorious Fyre Festival...

Joy As an Act of Resistance.

Idles - Joy As an Act of Resistance

Partisan Records

The Bristol punks quickly follow up 2017's hugely acclaimed Brutalism with a second effort. 

The LP has been produced by Nick Launay, who has previously worked with Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Kate Bush. 

Click here to read our interview with the band


Dissolution (Hmv Exclusive)

The Pineapple Thief - Dissolution


The prog experimentalists unveil their new LP, the follow-up album to 2016’s Your Wilderness and their second to feature King Crimson and Porcupine Tree drummer Gavin Harrison. 

Click here to get inside mainman Bruce Sord's record collection


Anna Calvi - Hunter


The singer returns with her first new album in five years this week, the third LP of her career to date. 

Produced by Nick Launay (he's been busy...), the album features special guests Adrian Utley of Portishead and The Bad Seeds member Martyn Casey. 

For her return, Calvi has promised an album which "...breaks the laws of gender conformity. It is a queer and a feminist record, it is galvanising in its hunt for freedom."

A Better Life

Spring King - A Better Life

Island Records

The Macclesfield foursome drop their second album, produced once again by frontman Tarek Musa, but an album that sees the band fully collaborating on songwriting for the first time in their career.

Big Red Machine

Big Red Machine - Big Red Machine


Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and The National’s Aaron Dessner come together to form Big Red Machine and unleash their debut album, produced together with frequent collaborator Brad Cook.

The album, which sees the pair embracing sprawling psychedelia, features guest appearances from The National's Bryce Dessner and Bryan Devendorf, Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry, Lisa Hannigan, Phoebe Bridgers, The Staves and Hiss Golden Messenger’s JT Bates.


Passenger - Runaway

Cooking Vinyl

The troubadour, best known for his hit single 'Let Her Go', releases his ninth studio album and his fifth in five years. 

Runaway, which was recorded between the UK and Australia with frequent collaborator Chris Vallejo, sees the singer embracing Neil Young and classic Americana. 

8 Letters

Why Don't We - 8 Letters


The pop fivesome drop their debut album this week, an LP made with a string of big-name hitmakers like The Monsters & Strangerz, Cutfather and MoZella. 


Wild Nothing - Indigo

Captured Tracks

Eccentric multi-instrumentalist Jack Tatum unveils his fourth studio LP, another collection of dream-pop loveliness, produced by Ariel Pink collaborator Jorge Elbrecht. 

Heart of the Hurricane

Beyond The Black - Heart of the Hurricane

Napalm Records

The German symphonic metallers return with a third album, the band's first since singer Jennifer Haben recruited a new backing collective. 

10 Songs That Happened When You Left Me With My Stupid Heart

Darwin Deez - 10 Songs That Happened When You Left Me With My Stupid Heart

Lucky Number Ltd

The indie collective, led by Darwin Merwan Smith, offer up a fourth full-length effort this week, a break-up record that sees Smith fully embracing psychedelia.