February 2, 2018

This Week's New Albums: February 2nd 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 02/02/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: February 2nd 2018

Justin Timberlake, Rae Morris, Don Broco and Simple Minds are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

Man of the Woods

Justin Timberlake - Man Of The Woods


The superstar takes a radical new turn on his follow-up to his 2013 double album The 20/20 Experience.

The material on this new LP is a departure for Timberlake and is more inspired by his Tennessee roots that the slick R&B he’s made his name with.

The album features production from Pharrell Williams, Timbaland, Max Martin and Shellback and includes hit single 'Filthy'. 

Click here to read our full preview. 

Someone Out There

Rae Morris - Someone Out There


Rae Morris follows up her hit 2015 debut album Unguarded in early February with new LP Someone Out There.

She’s back with some serious production help, with Fryars, Ariel Rechtshaid, My Riot, Fred Gibson, Buddy Ross and Starsmith all on hand to help out for this album, which sees Morris take her quirky, ethereal pop to a new level.

Click here to read our interview with the singer. 


Don Broco - Technology

Sharptone Records

After their departure from Sony Records, the eccentric pop rockers have regrouped with new label Sharptone Records and are preparing their third full-length effort.

Recorded with A frontman Jason Perry and Lower Than Atlantis key collaborator Dan Lancaster, the album sees the band combining the sharp-edged riffola of their debut album Priorities with the wide-eyed pop of 2015’s Automatic. 

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

Walk Between Worlds

Simple Minds - Walk Between Worlds

BMG Rights Management

The Scottish rockers, best known for their teen movie anthem 'Don't You (Forget About Me)', return with their 18th studio album this week. 

The album marks a departure for the band, with a prominent soul influence and the addition of vocals from The Anchoress. It is also the first time since 2002 the band have recorded without drummer Mel Gaynor or keyboardist Andy Gillespie.

Click here to read our interview with the band. 


Saxon - Thunderbolt

Militia Guard Music

The Sheffield trad metallers drop album 22 of their career.

Andy Sneap has handled production for this one, which is the follow-up to their 2015 record Battering Ram.

Among the tracks on the album are ‘They Played Rock And Roll’, which is a tribute to Motorhead and the spooky 'Nosferatu (The Vampires Waltz)'.


Hookworms - Microshift

Domino Records

The Yorkshire psychedelic fivesome return this week with a fiery new LP, the third of their career to date and their first for four years. 

Here Come the Runts

AWOLNATION - Here Come The Runts

Red Bull

Aaron Bruno and arena rocking cohorts return with album number three this week. 

Smooth Love Songs

Various Artists - Smooth Love Songs

Decca Records

37 of the smoothest tracks are gathered together for this two-disc compilation, which features classics from Al Green, The Temptations, Take That and The Commodores among others. 

Bloody Lovely

DZ Deathrays - Bloody Lovely


The raucous Australian duo return with their third album and their first for four years. The LP is their debut on new label Alcopop! Records. 

Open Here

Field Music - Open Here

Memphis Industries

The eccentric duo drop their sixth record this week, which features a guest appearance from The Cornshed Sisters' Liz Corney as well experimentations with strings and flutes...


Rhye - Blood

Loma Vista

The Canadian/Danish duo drop their second full-length effort of quirky pop and R&B.


Bette Smith - Jetlagger

Big Legal Mess

The much-tipped soul singer unveils her debut album this week.