July 20, 2018

This Week's New Albums: July 20th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 20/07/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: July 20th 2018

Now! That's What I Call Music! 100 joins new releases from Epica and Kanye West in a quiet week for new releases. 

Now That's What I Call Music! 100

Various Artists - Now That's What I Call Music! 100


The beloved compilation series reaches triple figures this week. 

To commemorate the 100th compilation, the makers of NOW! are changing things up a little. The first half of the compilation will be a regular NOW! rundown of the biggest hits, including smashes from Calvin Harris/Dua Lipa, Clean Bandit, George Ezra and more.

The second CD will include 21 classics, including megahits from Robbie Williams, Ed Sheeran, Spice Girls and more. You can find full details here. 

Click here to take our special NOW! anniversary quiz...


Kanye West - Ye

Virgin EMI Records

The controversial rapper follows up 2015's The Life Of Pablo with his eighth LP. 

Consisting of seven tracks, the album includes collaborations with Nicki Minaj, Ty Dolla Sign and PARTYNEXTDOOR as well as production assistance from Tame Impala's Kevin Parker and Francis and the Lights. 

Epica Vs. Attack On Titan Songs

Epica - Epica Vs. Attack On Titan Songs

Nuclear Blast

The Dutch symphonic metallers cover eight tracks from the soundtrack to celebrated anime series Attack On Titan. 

The Tree

Lori McKenna - The Tree

CNR Rec.

The beloved country songstress makes it 10 albums and counting this week with the release of new LP The Tree. 

Devouring Radiant Light

Skeletonwitch - Devouring Radiant Light

Prosthetic Records

The Ohio extreme metallers unveil their sixth studio album, their first since 2013's Serpents Unleashed. 

Across the Meridian

Pram - Across the Meridian

Domino Records

The Birmingham experimentalists release their first new album in 11 years this week. 


Mike Patton - 1922

Ipecac Recordings

Faith No More's Mike Patton releases his soundtrack to the grizzly new adaptation of Stephen King's 1922 this week. 


The Agony Scene - Tormentor

Outerloop Records

The reunited Oklahoma metallers unveil their first new LP in 11 years. 

Hive Mind

The Internet - Hive Mind


The hip-hop collective, lead by Odd Future's Syd Tha Kyd, unveil their fourth LP this week. 

The album, which is the follow-up to 2015's Ego Death, includes singles 'Come Over' and 'Roll (Burbank Funk)'.

Stone Woman

Charlotte Day Wilson - Stone Woman

Last Gang

The Canadian soul singer unveils a new six-track EP this week. 

Crown Shyness

Trash Boat - Crown Shyness


The scrappy St Albans punks follow-up 2016's much acclaimed Nothing I Write You Can Change What You've Been Through with a brand new effort. 

The Charcoal Pool

We Are Muffy - The Charcoal Pool


The Lilac Time's Nick Duffy and The Mighty Sceptres' Angeline Morrison come together for this folky collaboration.