July 27, 2018

This Week's New Albums: July 27th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 27/07/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: July 27th 2018

Halestorm, All Saints, Catherine McGrath and Rise Against are among the artists with new albums out this week. 


Halestorm - Vicious


Lzzy Hale and her merry band of rockers follow up 2015's hit Into The Wild Life with a brand new effort. 

The album was put together last year at Nashville, Tennesse's Rock Falcon recording studio with producer Queens Of The Stone Age/Band Of Skulls man Nick Raskulinecz and sees the band stepping up their power and groove in a big way, as you can hear of new single 'Uncomfortable'. 

Click here to read our interview with the band

Talk of This Town

Catherine McGrath - Talk Of This Town

Warner Music

The rising country star unveils her debut full-length effort this week, an album that sees her working with Taylor Swift producer Liz Rose, One Direction/Olly Murs man Steve Robson and country royalty Hunter Hayes. 

Click here to read our interview with McGrath


All Saints - Testament

AS Recordings

Fresh from the success of 2016's Red Flag, the reunited girl group drop their latest new LP. 

William Orbit and Rihanna/Jessie Ware collaborator Fred Ball are among the producers for the new album, which sees the band in a reflective mood. 

Click here to read our full preview

The Ghost Note Symphonies - Volume 1

Rise Against - The Ghost Note Symphonies - Volume 1

Virgin EMI Records

The Chicago punks release an album compiled of reimagined versions of their earlier songs, with acoustic orchestration and alternative instrumentation, with 'Savior', 'Wait For Me' and 'The Violence' among the tracks reworked. 

Teatime Dub Encounters

Underworld & Iggy Pop - Teatime Dub Encounters

Caroline International

The punk icon and the electro eccentrics hook up for this experimental four-track collection. 

Cage to Rattle

Daughtry - Cage to Rattle

Sony Music CMG

The Southern fried pop rockers unveil their first new album in five years, an album recorded with James Bay/You Me At Six producer Jacquire King. 

For the Love of Metal

Dee Snider - For the Love of Metal

Napalm Records

Twisted Sister frontman Dee Snider drops his fourth solo album this week. The album features 12 tracks well and has been produced by Hatebreed vocalist Jamey Jasta.

It features from former Killswitch Engage man Howard Jones and Lamb Of God's Mark Morton.


Pusha T - Daytona

Virgin EMI Records

The rapper unveils his new EP, which features seven tracks and guest spots from Rick Ross and Kanye West. 

There Are No Saints

Siobhan Wilson - There Are No Saints

Song By Toad Records

The Scottish singer-songwriter unveils her new LP, an album recorded with Catholic Action man Chris McCrory. 


Venues - Aspire

Arising Empire

The German hardcore six-piece unveil their furious new effort this week. 

From the Gallery of Sleep

Night Verses - From the Gallery of Sleep

Equal Vision

The post-rock trio release their first full-length since the departure of vocalist Douglas Robinson last year, an album made up of instrumentals. 

No Thank You

Kyle Falconer - No Thank You

Riverman Records

The View frontman drops his first solo album.

The album was recorded at Paul Weller’s Black Barn Studios and chronicles Falconer's struggles with addiction and spell in rehab. 

Act II

Tarja - Act II


The former Nightwish singer drops a new live collection.

The double album includes both an intimate 75-minute set filmed and recorded live at the Metropolis Studio in London and a full set recorded at the Teatro Della Luna Allago in Milan. 


ShadowParty - ShadowParty


This new indie supergroup, which features Josh Hager, currently playing guitar and keyboards in Devo, New Order bassist Tom Chapman and guitarist Phil Cunningham and Devo drummer Jeff Friedl, unveil their debut album. 

Primal Scream's Denise Johnson and The Verve’s guitarist Nick McCabe guest on the LP. 


Israel Nash - Lifted


The Arizona troubadour drops his new collection this week, an album made with his longtime band and with arrangements by Midlake/Mercury Rev man Jesse Chandler.