July 3, 2017

This Week's New Albums: July 7th 2017
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 03/07/2017


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: July 7th 2017

Haim, Lucy Rose, Public Service Broadcasting and Broken Social Scene are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

Something to Tell You

Haim - Something To Tell You


It’s taken Este, Danielle and Alanna four years and a series of cancelled tours to follow-up their hugely successful debut album Days Are Gone, but we finally get to hear what they’ve been up to next this week.

The trio have worked with Sky Ferreira/Carly Rae Jepsen man Ariel Rechtshaid and Grimes collaborator Bloodpop on the album, which was recorded in their native California.

The album features new single ‘Want You Back’ as well as the previously revealed ‘Right Now’.

Click here to read our full preview. 


Every Valley

Public Service Broadcasting - Every Valley

Play It Again Sam

The experimentalists are three albums in now, but their sense of adventure remains undaunted.

Their new LP is the story of the mining industry in Wales, more specifically chronicling the rise and decline of the country's coal industry.

It features guest appearances from Manic Street Preachers’ mainman James Dean Bradfield and Welsh singers Lisa Jen Brown and Tracyanne Campbell.

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

Something's Changing

Lucy Rose - Something's Changing

Communion Records

For her third studio album, the singer-songwriter has departed Columbia Records and joined Communion, home of Bear’s Den, Catfish and the Bottlemen and Dan Croll.

Recorded down in Brighton with Kate Walsh/Fink man Tim Bidwell, Rose has co-opted Daughter’s Elena Tonra and The Staves to help her out as well as members of Bear’s Den and Matthew and the Atlas.

The album sees Rose ditch the electronic stylings of her previous effort Work It Out and embrace the stripped down sonics of 70’s folk.

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

Big Little Lies

Various Artists - Big Little Lies OST


Tracks from Michael Kiwanuka, Villagers, Leon Bridges and more feature on the soundtrack to HBO's hit domestic drama.


Riverdogs - California

Frontiers Records

The hard rock supergroup, who count Def Leppard's Vivian Campbell among their members, unveil their first new studio album in six years. 

Hug of Thunder

Broken Social Scene - Hug Of Thunder

City Slang

The Canadian indie collective, who include Feist, Metric's Emily Haines and multi-instrumentalist Kevin Drew, return this week with their first new album in seven years. 


Jay-Z - 4:44

Sony Music

The all-conquering rapper returns with his 13th studio album and first since 2013's Magna Carta Holy Grail.

For 4:44, Jay-Z recruits Frank Ocean, Damian Marley, Beyoncé and his mother Gloria Carter for guest appearances, while No I.D is on production duties. 

A Walk With Love & Death

Melvins - A Walk With Love & Death

Ipecac Recordings

The sludgy icons return with a brand new album this week, a double album with one studio LP and the other disc a score to a short film. 

Pixies' Joey Santiago and Le Butcherettes' Teri Gender Bender both guest on the album. 

Moonshine Freeze

This Is The Kit - Moonshine Freeze

Rough Trade

Folkster Kate Stables unveils her fourth full-length collection this week. 

Ten Millennia

Ten Millennia - Ten Millennia


The groove-infused rockers hit hard with their new self-titled album.