June 22, 2018

This Week's New Albums: June 22nd 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 22/06/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: June 22nd 2018

Panic! At The Disco, Nine Inch Nails, Bebe Rexha and Dawes are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

Pray for the Wicked

Panic! At The Disco - Pray For The Wicked


Brendon Urie follows up 2016’s supremely successful Death Of A Bachelor with new LP Pray For The Wicked, a new collection of swaggering, big-hearted pop rock.

Recorded with Fall Out Boy/Weezer producer Jake Sinclair, the album was written and committed to tape in the weeks after Urie returned from a stint on Broadway starring in the Kinky Boots musical.

Click here to read our full preview


Bebe Rexha - Expectations


The American songstress has been building up to her debut album for the last three years, but it finally arrives this week. 

Rexha’s contact book has been firmly plundered with hitmaker supreme Max Martin, The Weeknd/Taylor Swift collaborator Ali Payami and Watch The Throne key man Hit-Boy all on the LP, as well as this, collaborations with country boys Florida Georgia Line, soulful man Tory Lanez and rapper Quavo, also appear.

Bad Witch

Nine Inch Nails - Bad Witch

Null Corporation

It’s been almost five years since Trent Reznor and co’s last full-length LP, but it arrives this week. 

Now boasting a line-up that includes Reznor’s partner in film composition Atticus Ross as well as long-time guitarist Robin Finck and ex-Lostprophets drummer Ilan Rubin, the band will make it nine albums and counting with Bad Witch.

The LP is a short one with only six tracks included. It completes a trilogy that began with 2016’s Not The Actual Events and 2017’s ADD VIOLENCE.



Dawes - Passwords

HUB Records

The folk rockers, who are led by brothers Taylor and Griffin Goldsmith, return with their sixth LP this week.

The album reunites the band with producer Jonathan Wilson, with whom they recorded their first two albums and drops via their own HUB Records.

Cruising With Jane McDonald

Jane McDonald - Cruising With Jane McDonald


The singer, who found fame back in the late 1990's on BBC show The Cruise, returns to that territory with her new album. 

Among the songs she's covered are Wham!'s 'Club Tropicana', Ultravox's 'Vienna' and ABBA's 'The Winner Takes It All'. 

Almost Persuaded

Swing Out Sister - Almost Persuaded


The pop duo, best known for their 1986 hit 'Breakout', return with their first new album in nine years.

Click here to read our interview with the band

Heaven & Earth

Kamasi Washington - Heaven & Earth

Young Turks

The hugely acclaimed jazzman releases his latest collection this week, an epic new LP featuring 16 new compositions. 

Now That's What I Call a Summer Party 2018

Various Artists - Now That's What I Call a Summer Party 2018


Hits from Justin Timberlake, Shawn Mendes, Dua Lipa and Justin Bieber are among the 60 included on this three-disc collection of summery floorfillers. 

Neon Nights

Dannii Minogue - Neon Nights

London Recordings

The singer's 2003 album gets a deluxe anniversary reissue, complete with bonus tracks and remixes by Tiga, Jason Nevins and Almighty.

No Sounds Are Out of Bounds

The Orb - No Sounds Are Out of Bounds

Cooking Vinyl

The veteran electro oddballs plough on with their 15th full-length effort, this time featuring collaborations with Youth, Roger Eno, Hollie Cook, Guy Pratt and Jah Wobble. 


Khemmis - Desolation

Nuclear Blast

The Colorado doom metallers unveil their third studio album, produced once again by Colbalt/Cattle Decapitation man Dave Otero

The album contains six tracks, including the sprawling 'From Ruin', which rocks in at almost nine and a half minutes. 

Dan + Shay

Dan + Shay - Dan + Shay

Warner Music

The country superstars unveil their third full-length effort, which features hit single 'Tequila' as well as a duet with Kelly Clarkson. 

Click here to read our interview with the pair