June 24, 2016

This Week's New Albums: June 24th 2016
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 24/06/2016


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: June 24th 2016

Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Choir, Will Butler and Hannah Georgas are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

Something Inside So Strong

Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Choir - Something Inside So Strong


The choir, who scored the 2015 Christmas Number One with 'Bridge Over You', unveil their debut album which features a series of re-workings of hits from the likes of Sting, Katrina & The Waves and Ed Sheeran. Click here to read our full preview. 

Friday Night

Will Butler - Friday Night

Merge Records

The Arcade Fire man releases a new collection which features a number of tracks from his solo LP Policy recorded live at Lincoln Hall in Chicago as well as five new songs and two of the songs that he recorded for The Guardian in a one-week song-a-day project. 

The Mountain Will Fall

DJ Shadow - The Mountain Will Fall

Mass Appeal

The hip-hop maestro recruits Run The Jewels, Nils Frahm and Matthew Halsall for his fifth studio album. Click here to read our full preview

Invention of Knowledge

Anderson/Stolt - Invention of Knowledge

Century Media

The Flower Kings' Roine Stolt and Yes frontman Jon Anderson team up for an epic new prog collaboration. 


Broods - Conscious

Island Records

The Kiwi electropop duo unveil their second full-length effort this week. 

Live at Red Rocks

Alt - J - Live At Red Rocks


Alt-J's huge show at Colorado's Red Rocks Ampitheatre is captured live on this new album. 

Hot Hot Heat

Hot Hot Heat - Hot Hot Heat

Kaw-Liga Records

The Canadian indie band, best known for their hit 'Bandages', unveil their fifth and final LP this week. 

Late Night Tales: Ólafur Arnalds

Various Artists - Late Night Tales: Ólafur Arnalds

Late Night Tales

Arnalds, best known for his work as the composer of Broadchurch, is the latest artist to curate a Late Night Tales. 

Marbella Collection 2016: Mixed By DJ Colin Francis

Various Artists - Marbella Collection 2016: Mixed By DJ Colin Francis

Ministry of Sound

Colin Francis remixes many of the summer's biggest dancefloor smashes, including cuts from Disclosure, 99 Souls and Duke Dumont, on this new three-disc compilation. 

Life in the Dark

The Felice Brothers - Life In The Dark

Yep Roc

The much-acclaimed folk rockers follow-up 2014's Favourite Waitress with this new studio album. 

On Desire

Drowners - On Desire

Frenchkiss Records

The New York indie types return with album number two this week. 

Now That's What I Call Reggae Party

Various Artists - Now That's What I Call Reggae Party!


Three discs of reggae classics, including hits from Shaggy, UB40 and Amy Winehouse, feature on this compilation. 

Mark of the Blade

Whitechapel - Mark Of The Blade

Metal Blade Records

The Tennessee deathcore titans drop their sixth studio album this week.