June 29, 2018

This Week's New Albums: June 29th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 29/06/2018


hmv.com Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: June 29th 2018

Florence + The Machine, Gorillaz, Bullet For My Valentine and Ray Davies are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

High As Hope

Florence + The Machine - High As Hope

Virgin EMI Records

Florence Welch and her troupe return with the long-awaited follow-up to 2015’s How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful this week.

For her fourth album, Welch has brought in a wealth of songwriting and production talent with frequent Mark Ronson collaborator Andrew Wyatt, country troubadour Tobias Jesso Jnr, Jamie XX, Sampha and Lana Del Rey/Bruno Mars regular Emile Haynie among the collaborators.

Billed by Welch as her rawest and most personal record to date, expect another collection of soaring, elegiac and wonderful tracks.

Click here to read our preview of the album


Bullet For My Valentine - Gravity


The Welsh metallers have shaken things up for their sixth studio album.

Their longtime drummer Michael ‘Moose’ Thomas is out and former Pitchshifter sticksman Jason Bowld is in and the band are newly signed to Spinefarm Records.

Produced by While She Sleeps/Fightstar man Carl Bown, this new album sees the band embracing new influences, with electronics and loops made a key feature of the record, alongside the usual barrage of riffs and breakdowns.

Click here to read our interview with singer Matt Tuck

The Now Now

Gorillaz - The Now Now


Damon Albarn returns with his sixth album under his Gorillaz moniker and the project's second in successive years. 

Albarn has written the album with frequent collaborator Remi Kabaka and produced by Arctic Monkeys/Foals man James Ford.

Among the guests on the album are Snoop Dogg, George Benson and Jamie Principle. 

Click here to read our full preview

The Reworks

Pendulum - The Reworks


The newly reformed dance titans offer up an LP made up of 13 remixes of hits from across their career. Among the remixers are Skrillex, Noisia, Devin Townsend and Moby. 

Our Country: Americana Act 2

Ray Davies - Our Country: Americana Act 2

Sony Music CMG

The Kinks frontman unveils the second part of Americana collection, recorded once again at London's Konk Studios alongside guitarist Bill Shanley and the alt-country band the Jayhawks.

This album sees Davies releasing a series of new songs as well as reworking a number of tracks from his days in The Kinks and his earlier solo work. 

Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album

John Coltrane - Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album


A recording from the jazz icon, made 55 years ago, surfaces after many feared it was lost forever. 

The album features seven tracks in total, two of which are previously unheard tracks from the artist. 

The tracks on the album were recorded over the course of one day in March of 1963 at Van Gelder Studios with his band consisting of McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones.

Sometimes the World Ain't Enough

The Night Flight Orchestra - Sometimes the World Ain't Enough

Nuclear Blast

The Swedish prog types, formed by Soilwork's Björn Strid and David Andersson, unveil their fourth LP this week. 


The Alarm - Equals

21st Century

The grizzled Welsh punks drop their latest effort this week. The album is the band's first album of new material in eight years and features a guest appearance from The Cult's Billy Duffy. 


Marduk - Viktoria

Century Media

The Swedish black metallers drop their 14th studio LP this week, an album packed with their usual power and fury as well as wonderfully named tracks like 'Equestrian Bloodlust'. 

Fight the Good Fight

The Interrupters - Fight the Good Fight


The ska punks drop their third album this week. The LP was produced by Rancid frontman Tim Armstrong with the band at Ship-Rec Recorders in Los Angeles. 

I'm All Ears

Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears


Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth follow up 2016's hugely acclaimed I, Gemini with I'm All Ears. This album has been recorded with The xx/Caribou man David Wrench, electropop whizz SOPHIE and The Horrors' Faris Badwan. 

Click here to read our interview with the band

Uniform Distortion

Jim James - Uniform Distortion


The My Morning Jacket mainman releases his fourth solo LP this week. For this new album, James is backed by Floating Action's Seth Kauffman and longtime touring drummer Dave Givan. Dear Lemon Trees’ Leslie Stevens, Jamie Drake and Kathleen Grace provide backing vocals. 

The Sea Within

The Sea Within - The Sea Within


This new collective, made up of The Flower Kings' Roine Stolt, Jonas Reingold and Daniel Gildenlöw, Steven Wilson's Marco Minnemann and Yes/Meat Loaf man Tom Brislin, unveil their much-anticipated debut LP this week.