March 10, 2017

This Week's New Albums: March 10th 2017
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 10/03/2017

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: March 10th 2017

Circa Waves, Laura Marling, Mallory Knox, The Shins and Paul Weller are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

Different Creatures

Circa Waves - Different Creatures

Virgin EMI

The Liverpudlian indie rockers return with their second album, which has been co-produced by Alan Moulder, best known for his work with Foals, Nine Inch Nails and The Killers.  

Different Creatures sees the band add more size and power to their jangly riffs and breezy melodies, especially on new single ‘Wake Up’.

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

Semper Femina

Laura Marling - Semper Femina

More Alarming

Laura Marling is barely 27, but she’s already onto her sixth studio album. This LP sees the singer strip her sound right back and return with her rawest album to date.

The album is the first to be released via Marling's own More Alarming record label, it was produced by Marling and Blake Mills and recorded in Los Angeles.

Click here to read our full preview. 


The Shins - Heartworms


It’s been just under five years since The Shins released their last album Port Of Morrow, time which frontman James Mercer has used to make a second Broken Bells with Danger Mouse and enjoy some much-needed time off.

Now they’re back with Heartworms, a self-produced new LP that includes new single ‘Dead Alive’.

Click here to read our interview with Mercer. 


Mallory Knox - Wired


The Cambridge rock fivesome challenge the power of technology and social media on their powerhouse third LP. 

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

Jawbone (Music From The Film)

Paul Weller - Jawbone


The singer provides the soundtrack to much-fancied new boxing drama Jawbone with this new album of original material. 

Hits And Pieces – The Best Of Marc Almond & Soft Cell

Marc Almond - Hits & Pieces: The Best of Marc Almond & Soft Cell


The Soft Cell mainman gathers up all his best bits, including iconic tracks like 'Tainted Love' and 'Say Hello Wave Goodbye', in this career-spanning new collection. 

Beauty and the Beast

Various Artists - Beauty And The Beast


Ahead of the live-action reboot coming to cinemas the soundtrack gets a full release. It features Ariana Grande and John Legend's new take on the iconic theme tune. 

The Life Of A Man - The Ultimate Hits 1968 - 2013 (Essential Edition)

Joe Cocker - The Life of a Man: The Ultimate Hits 1968-2013 (Essential Edition)

Sony Music CMG

The singer's best moments are brought together across this new collection. 

Black and White Rainbows

Bush - Black and White Rainbows

Zuma Rock Records

The Gavin Rossdale-led rockers unveil their seventh full-length effort this week. 


Marti Pellow - Mysteriois

Arctic Poppy

The Wet Wet Wet frontman unveils his brand new solo LP, his 10th in all. 


Havok - Conformicide

Century Media

The Denver thrash metallers unveil their fourth studio LP, their first release with bassist Nick Schendzielos and their first new LP for four years. 


Nathan Fake - Providence

Ninja Tune

The electro maestro drops his fourth full-length LP, his first since 2012's Steam Days. 

Yours Conditionally

Tennis - Yours Conditionally

Mutually Detrimental

Patrick Riley and Alaina Moore release their fourth collection of dreamy pop music.

Sleepin' Is Cheatin'

Various Artists - Sleepin' Is Cheatin'

Ministry of Sound

Tom Zanetti mixes two discs of dancefloor fillers and includes tracks from the Artful Dodger, Disciples and Disclosure among the 40 tracks. 

The Order Of Time

Valerie June - The Order of Time

Caroline International

The bluesy singer unveils her second album this week.