March 16, 2018

This Week's New Albums: March 16th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 16/03/2018

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: March 16th 2018

Fickle Friends, Alexandra Burke, The Magic Gang and The Fratellis are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

You Are Someone Else

Fickle Friends - You Are Someone Else


The dance-pop collective have spent the last two years delighting us with a series of bouncy, energetic, smart and ever-so-catchy singles and in March we’ll finally get to hear their debut album.

For their debut, they’ve enlisted the help of 1975 producer Mike Crossey, Years and Years man Mark Ralph and JP Cooper/Zara Larsson Mike Spencer.

Largely recorded in Los Angeles, but mostly written during the band’s years as an independent hard-touring act, you can expect a joyous debut LP.

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

The Truth Is

Alexandra Burke - The Truth Is

Decca Records

The 2008 X-Factor champ returns with her third studio album and her first new music in six years. 

The album includes new hit single 'Shadow' as well as a duet with former Boyzone man Ronan Keating. 

The Magic Gang

The Magic Gang - The Magic Gang

Yala Records

The much-fancied psychedelic pop foursome unveil their debut album, recorded with U2/Daughter producer Jolyon Thomas, this week. 

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

In Your Own Sweet Time

The Fratellis - In Your Own Sweet Time

Cooking Vinyl

The Scottish trio, best known for their hit single 'Chelsea Dagger, return with their fifth full-length effort, another made with Beck/KT Tunstall producer Tony Hoffer.

Click here to read our interview with the band. 

I'll Be Your Girl

The Decemberists - I'll Be Your Girl

Rough Trade

The Portland indie collective team up with Blondie/St Vincent producer John Congleton for their eighth studio album, their first since 2015's What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World.

Stone Temple Pilots

Stone Temple Pilots - Stone Temple Pilots


The grunge stalwarts return for their first new LP in eight years and their first with new singer Jeff Gutt, who has stepped in after the tragic death of original singer Scott Weiland. 

Black Heaven

Earth - Black Heaven

Nuclear Blast

The San Diego hard rockers release their brand album, an LP recorded with Eagles Of Death Metal man Dave Catching. 

There's a Riot Going On

Yo La Tengo - There's A Riot Going On


The eccentric and prolific indie types return with the 15th full-length effort of their career. 

Mr. Dynamite

Creep Show - Mr. Dynamite

Bella Union Records

Beloved troubadour John Grant teams up with the dark analogue electro trio Wrangler for this surreal new collaboration. 

Jericho Sirens

Hot Snakes - Jericho Sirens

Sub Pop

The beloved punks cement their reunion with their first new album since 2004’s Audit in Progress. The LP was self-produced and was recorded in Philadelphia and San Diego throughout 2017.

A State of Trance 850

Various Artists - A State of Trance 850

A State of Trance

Armin van Buuren and Ruben de Ronde unveil their latest collection, with tracks from Purple Haze, Radio 6 and Solarstone among the 40 tunes picked out. 

Love, Simon

Various Artists - Love, Simon


Tracks from The 1975, Troye Sivan and The Jackson 5 as well as host of tracks from Jack Antonoff's Bleachers are among the songs on the soundtrack to the new teen drama Love, Simon. 

Where I Go When I Am Sleeping

Casey - Where I Go When I Am Sleeping

Hassle Records

The Welsh hardcore punks unveil their second full-length effort this week. 

Critical As Water

Jeremy Loops - Critical As Water

Loops Music

The South African singer-songwriter follows up his acclaimed debut Trading Change with a brand new album. 


Black Foxxes - Reidi


The rock trio return with a brand new effort this week, inspired by time spent in Iceland. 

Click here to read our interview with the band.