May 4, 2018

This Week's New Albums: May 4th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 04/05/2018

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: May 4th 2018

New albums from Plan B, Frank Turner, Parkway Drive and Shinedown are among this week's new releases.

Be More Kind

Frank Turner - Be More Kind


The tenacious troubadour makes it seven albums and counting in May with his new LP Be More Kind.

Be More Kind sees Turner moving into new territory with keyboards, loops and electronics fully embraced and the stripped back folk of his previous effort Positive Songs For Negative People.

The album has been produced by Austin Jenkins and Joshua Block, formerly of psychedelic-rock Texans White Denim, and Florence And The Machine and Halsey collaborator Charlie Hugall.

Click here to read our interview with Turner

Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose

Plan B - Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose


Another long-awaited return ends this week, this time it’s Plan B, who has left us without a studio album for six years.

For new album Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose, the singer has drafted in outside help for the first time, with Beyonce collaborator, Arrow Benjamin, Ed Sheeran disciple Foy Vance and Kid Harpoon, who has helped Florence and The Machine and Jessie Ware with some of their biggest tracks, all on duty for this new album.

Unlike his last LP, Ill Manors, which was entirely driven by grime and hip-hop, this new album features no rapping, with the singer returning to his more soulful side, as we heard on The Defamation Of Strickland Banks.

Click here to read our full preview


Parkway Drive - Reverence


Slowly and steadily, the Australian metalcore stalwarts have built themselves up from the lower vestiges of festival bills and tiny clubs into the kind of band that can fill arenas.

Now, with their sixth album, they’re aiming for the big time. Produced, once again by George Hadjichristou, the band’s power and precision is front and centre, with Winston McCall’s uncompromising vocals still as harsh as ever they were.

Click here to read our interview with frontman Winston McCall


Jon Hopkins - Singularity


Jon Hopkins returns five years after his last studio album with another collection of quirky electronica.

The LP will consist of nine tracks and clock in at over 62 minutes, including 'Everything Connected' and 'Luminous Beings', which both come in at over 10 minutes in length.

No guests feature on this new album.


Iceage - Beyondless


The Danish punks drop their fourth album this week, their first since 2014's Plowing Into the Field of Love and a return to the gnarly punk of their early work.

Singer Sky Ferreira guests on ‘Pain Killer’ and the album was recorded again by longtime Nis Bysted.

Attention Attention

Shinedown - Attention Attention


The Florida hard rockers drop their sixth studio album this week, a concept album inspired by the journey of a human overcoming their negativity through personal struggles to be reborn as a new person. 



Reef - Revelation


The funky rockers, best known for their megahit 'Place Your Hands', return with their first new album in 18 years, an album that includes a duet with Sheryl Crow. 


Dimmu Borgir - Eonian

Nuclear Blast

The Norwegian black metallers have been absent for some time, but are back this week with Eonian, their first new LP in eight years. 

Their appetite for darkness remains as strong as ever with this new album following a philosophical concept, dealing with the illusion of time and Luciferian codes

World's Strongest Man

Gaz Coombes - World's Strongest Man


The Supergrass frontman unveils his third solo venture this week, an LP recorded at his home studio and at Oxford’s Courtyard Studios, with occasional co-production from Ian Davenport. 

Click here to read our interview with Coombes

Build a Tower

The Slow Readers Club - Build A Tower

Modern Sky Entertainment

The hardworking Mancunian indie types drop their fourth album this week. 

Kindness Is the New Rock and Roll

Peace - Kindness Is the New Rock and Roll

Ignition Records

The psychedelic indie types follow-up 2015's acclaimed Happy People with a brand new collection, this time produced by The Felice Brothers' Simone Felice. 

Click here to read our interview with the band.

Personal Record

Eleanor Friedberger - Personal Record

Frenchkiss Records

The Fiery Furnaces singer reveals her fourth solo album this week, an album made with electro specialist Clemens Knieper. 

Good Thing

Leon Bridges - Good Thing


The Texan soulman drops his second full-length effort this week. 

Episode II

Galactic Empire - Episode II

Rise Records

The Star Wars themed metal band drop their second collection this week, with songs like 'Kylo Ren Arrives at the Battle', 'The Droid Invasion' and 'The Departure of Boba Fett' all included. 


Hailey Tuck - Junk

Sony Music CMG

The much-tipped Texan jazz songstress unveils her debut album this week.