May 6, 2016

This Week's New Albums: May 6th 2016
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 06/05/2016

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: May 6th 2016

Prince, Mike Posner, Andy Black, Gregory Porter and Skepta are among the artists with new albums out this week. 


Beyoncé - Lemonade


The singer's much-acclaimed new album hits shelves this week, complete with hit single 'Formation' and a lavish 60-minute short film. Click here to read our full preview. 


Drake - Views


The rapper unveils his long-awaited fourth studio album, which features guest spots from Rihanna, Future and Popcaan as well as megahit 'Hotline Bling'. Click here to read our full preview. 


Skepta - Konnichiwa

Boy Better Know

The grime firebrand unveils his first studio album in five years this week, an LP with guest appearances from JME, Boy Better Know, D Double E, Novelist, Wiley, Chip, Pharrell Williams, ASAP Nast and Young Lord. 

At Night, Alone.

Mike Posner - At Night, Alone


The singer unveils his second album, which features hit single 'I Took A Pill In Ibiza' and guest appearances from Big Sean and Labrinth. Click here to read our interview with Posner. 

HITnRUN Phase Two

Prince - HITnRUN Phase Two


The iconic singer, who died tragically last month, posthumously unveils the second part of his HITnRUN album series. 

The Shadow Side

Andy Black - The Shadow Side


The Black Veil Brides frontman goes it alone on this new album, which also features appearances from Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump and Blink-182's Travis Barker, click here to read our interview with the singer. 


ANOHNI - Hopelessness

Rough Trade

The singer, best known for her work as part of Antony And The Johnsons, unveils her first album under the name ANOHNI, which features production from Oneohtrix Point Never and Hudson Mohawke. 

Take Me To The Alley

Gregory Porter - Take Me To The Alley


The Grammy award-winning singer follows up his big-selling LP Liquid Spirit with a brand new collection. Click here to watch our interview with him. 


White Lung - Paradise


The powerhouse Vancouver punks unveil their fourth studio album this week, click here to read our interview with the band. 

Bloom Forever

Thomas Cohen - Bloom Forever

Stolen Recordings

The former S.C.U.M frontman goes it alone on this brand new album, which takes him in a folkier direction. 

Electronica 2: The Heart of Noise

Jean Michel Jarre - Electronica 2: The Heart Of Noise


The electro pioneer collaborates with Primal Scream, Gary Numan, Peaches and Edward Snowden and a host of others on this new collection. 


Goo Goo Dolls - Boxes

Warner Bros

The big-selling pop rockers unveil their 11th studio album, their first for almost 20 years without drummer Mike Malinin. 


The Duke Spirit - Kin

Ex Voto Records

The gloomy London rockers release their first new LP in five years. 


Cyndi Lauper - Detour


The 'Time After Time' covers 12 country classics on this new album, including new takes on tracks from Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss and Willie Nelson. 

100% Clubland

Various Artists - 100% Clubland

Universal Music TV

Floorfillers from N-Trance, Flip & Fill, Scooter and Ultrabeat are among the tracks to feature on this four-disc compilation of club hits.