September 14, 2018

This Week's New Albums: September 14th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 14/09/2018

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: September 14th 2018

Paul Weller, Pale Waves and Jungle are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

True Meanings

Paul Weller - True Meanings


The Modfather continues his prolific recent form with True Meanings, his third album in the past four years.

The LP is the 14th solo album of Weller's career and the 26th of his career in all. 

The album is a departure for Weller from his recent work, with the jerky krautrock left behind and dreamy, 60s pop inspired taking centre stage. 

The Zombies' Rod Argent, Lucy Rose, White Label’s Tom Doyle and Noel Gallagher all guest on the album. 

Click here to read our full preview

My Mind Makes Noises (Hmv Exclusive Slipcase)

Pale Waves - My Mind Makes Noises

Dirty Hit Records

The 1975 approved oddballs unveil their much-anticipated debut album next month. 

The album includes hit singles 'Television Romance' and 'There’s A Honey'. 

Click here to read our interview with the band

For Ever

Jungle - For Ever


The mysterious London duo finally follow-up their hugely acclaimed 2014 debut album next month with For Ever.

Initially, Tom McFarland and Josh Lloyd-Watson headed to Los Angeles to write and record their second LP, but after difficult adjusting and the demise of their long-term relationships, the pair returned to London. 

They've described the new album as "post-apocalyptic radio station playing break up songs".

Click here to read our full preview

Love Is Here to Stay

Tony Bennett and Diana Krall - Love Is Here to Stay

Decca Records

The Canadian songstress teams up for the iconic crooner for this joint album. 

Among the classics covered by the pair are 'Nice Work If You Can Get It', 'S Wonderful' and 'They Can't Take That Away From Me'. 

Monsters Exist

Orbital - Monsters Exist

ACP Recordings

The dance titans drop their ninth studio album this week, their first since 2012's Wonky. 

The LP features nine tracks and a guest appearance from Professor Brian Cox. 

Drone Signals

Ben Chatwin - Drone Signals

Village Green

Chatwin, who has previously performed under the name Talvihorros, releases a new collection of ambient electronica. 

13 Rivers

Richard Thompson - 13 Rivers

Proper Records

The folkster, best known for his time with Fairport Convention, unveils his new studio album. 

Thompson self-produces, working with regular collaborators Michael Jerome, Taras Prodaniuk and Bobby Eichorn.

Cry Pretty

Carrie Underwood - Cry Pretty

Virgin EMI Records

The country superstar releases her sixth studio album, her first since 2015's Storyteller. 

The album features hit single 'Cry Pretty' as well as a guest appearance from Ludacris. 

Generation Rx

Good Charlotte - Generation Rx

BMG Rights Management

The pop-punks, led by the Madden Brothers, drop their seventh studio album this week. 

Produced by Zakk Cervini and Benji Madden, the album sees the album returning to their pop-punk roots. 

Double Negative

Low - Double Negative

Sub Pop

The quirky Minnesota indie types drop their 12th studio album this week, the follow-up to 2015's Ones and Sixes. 

The album was produced by long-time collaborator BJ Burton and recorded at Justin Vernon’s April Base studio in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.


Ghetto Gospel: The New Testament

Ghetts - Ghetto Gospel: The New Testament


The grime MC drops his new album this week. 

Among the collaborators on the album are Stefflon Don, Wretch 32, Chip and Leah McFall. 

True Rockers

Monster Truck - True Rockers

Mascot Records

The Canadian hard rockers roar back with a third full-length effort this week, an album made by Young Guns/Enter Shikari man Dan Weller and recorded at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, North Carolina. 


David Guetta - 7


The superstar DJ makes it seven albums and counting this week. 

Among the tracks included are hit singles '2U', 'Goodbye' and 'Dirty Sexy Money'. 

Justin Bieber, Nicki Minaj, Bebe Rexha, Sia, Anne-Marie, Jess Glynne and Stefflon Don are among the vocalists to feature. 


Thrice - Palms


The reunited post-hardcore foursome drop album number 10, the follow-up to 2016's To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere. 

The album was co-produced by the band and Eric Palmquist and mixed by John Congleton. 

Meet Me at the River

Dawn Landes - Meet Me at the River

Yep Roc

The Kentucky singer-songwriter unveils a new collection, an LP recorded with Nashville legend Fred Foster.