September 7, 2018

This Week's New Albums: September 7th 2018
by Tom

by Tom Goodwyn

hmv London; 07/09/2018

Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

This Week's New Albums: September 7th 2018

Paul McCartney, Paul Carrack, Paul Simon and Lenny Kravitz are among the artists with new albums out this week. 

Egypt Station

Paul McCartney - Egypt Station

Virgin EMI

The songwriting genius unveils his first new album since 2013's New, making it the 17 solo albums and counting. 

Egypt Station has been produced by Adele/Sia hitmaker Greg Kurstin, with the exception of one track produced by OneRepublic mainman Ryan Tedder.

The album will contain 16 tracks, including singles 'I Don't Know' and 'Come On To Me'.

Click here to read our full preview

In the Blue Light

Paul Simon - In The Blue Light

Sony Music CMG

The iconic songwriter revisits his back catalogue on his 14th solo album, producing an LP of re-recordings of select lesser-known songs from Simon's catalogue, often altering their original arrangements, harmonic structures, and lyrics.

The album was recorded with producer Roy Halee and a band that includes trumpeter Wynton Marsalis and The National's Bryce Dessner. 

Among the songs re-worked are 'René and Georgette Magritte with Their Dog After the War', 'Darling Lorraine' and 'How the Heart Approaches What It Yearns'.

Click here to read our full preview

These Days (Hmv Exclusive)

Paul Carrack - These Days

Carrack UK

The former Ace and Mike + The Mechanics frontman returns with a brand new solo LP, the 17th solo album of his career. 

Eric Clapton drummer Steve Gadd and legendary saxophonist  Pee Wee Ellis are among the guests, while Carrack's former Squeeze bandmate Chris Difford provides lyrics on five tracks. 

Raise Vibration

Lenny Kravitz - Raise Vibration

BMG Rights Management

The iconic axeman unveils his 11th studio album, his first since 2014's Strut. 

The 12-track effort features Kravitz on almost every instrument, with longtime guitarist Craig Ross the only collaborator. 

And Nothing Hurt

Spiritualized - And Nothing Hurt

Bella Union Records

Jason Pierce returns after a six-year absence with a brand new collection, a nine-track effort, produced by Pierce himself. 

Written by Pierce on a laptop inside his bedroom, the album sees Spiritualized return to their spacy, psychedelic roots. 

Book of Bad Decisions

Clutch - Book of Bad Decisions

Weathermaker Music

The Maryland hard rockers follow up 2015's acclaimed Psychic Warfare with a brand new LP, the 12th of their career to date. 

The album has been produced by Vance Powell, best known for his work with Seasick Steve and Chris Stapleton. 

Still Cyco Punk After All These Years

Suicidal Tendencies - Still Cyco Punk After All These Years

Suicidal Records

The hardcore types make it 13 albums and counting with the wonderfully titled Still Cyco Punk After All These Years

The album is a near-complete re-recording of frontman Mike Muir's 1996 solo debut album under the moniker Cyco Miko.


MNEK - Language

Virgin EMI Records

The R&B maestro, best known for his collaborations with Rudimental and Zara Larsson finally gets around to unveiling his debut album this week. 

The album features hit singles 'Tongue' and 'Correct' and a collaboration with Hailee Steinfeld.

Head Cage

Pig Destroyer - Head Cage

Relapse Records

The grindcore veterans drop their first new album since 2012. 

The LP features vocal cameos from Richard Johnson and Kat Katz from Agoraphobic Nosebleed, along with Dylan Walker from Full of Hell as well as marking a debut for bassist John Jarvis.

Lovers Rock

Estelle - Lovers Rock

VP Records

The singer, best known for his megahit 'American Boy', returns with a new reggae album. 

Chronixx, Luke James and Kranium are among the guests on the album. 

Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty

Metal Allegiance - Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty

Nuclear Blast

The metal supergroup, who include Megadeth's David Ellefson and prog titan Mike Portnoy, return with a sophomore effort. 

Among the guest vocalist on the album are Nightwish's Floor Jansen, Soulfly's Max Cavalera and Mastodon's Troy Sanders. 


Vodun - Ascend

New Heavy Sounds

The metal collective, who fuse thrash metal with traditional West African music, return with a new LP this week. 


Kandace Springs - Indigo


The sultry soul singer unveils her new album this week, an album made with jazz drummer Karriem Riggins, whose credits include Common, Kendrick Lamar and Kanye West. 

The album is a mixture of originals and covers, with The Stylistics' much-loved 'People Make the World Go Round'.