News - April 13, 2016

Underworld 5 gets a full title
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Underworld 5 gets a full title

The fifth movie in the Underworld series is to be titled Underworld: Blood Wars. 

The movie's fifth instalment will see Kate Beckinsale return to star once again with Divergent's Theo James returning as David, the ally of Beckinsale's character Selena, after debuting the character in Underworld: Awakening.

Also joining the cast are Bradley James, Tobias Menzies and Lara Pulver, while Charles Dance also returns to reprise his role as Thomas, a vampire elder and father of David. 

The next instalment will be directed by Anna Foerster, who has acted as second unit director on a series of blockbusters, including The Day After Tomorrow and Independence Day. The new Underworld movie will be her debut as a director. 

The Underworld series has yielded four films so far, 2003's Underworld, 2006's Underworld: Evolution, 2009's prequel Underworld: Rise Of The Lycans and the most recent effort, 2012's Underworld: Awakening. Between them, the films have made over $458 million in box office receipts.

The film series tells the story of the battle that has raged between vampires and lycans (werewolf-like creatures) for centuries, especially focusing on Selena's quest to kill the lycans who murdered her family. 

The movie is due to hit cinemas in October. 

Underworld 1-4
Underworld 1-4 Len Wiseman, Måns Mårlind, Björn Stein, Patrick Tatopoulos

More Articles

View All