News - October 16, 2014

Warner Brothers confirms release dates for J.K. Rowling's Fantastic Beasts trilogy
by Tom
by Tom hmv London, Bio Editor. Peanut butter, punk rock and pillows.

Warner Brothers confirms release dates for J.K. Rowling's Fantastic Beasts trilogy

Warner Brothers have confirmed that J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter spin-off series Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them is to be a cinematic trilogy. 

The studio confirmed yesterday (October 15th) that the first film, which is based on Rowling's novella of the same name, will emerge on November 18th 2016, with two sequels dated for 2018 and 2020. 

The new spin-off, which is inspired by Rowling's universe-expanding textbook about magical creatures, is not a direct prequel to Harry Potter, but will be set in the same universe, likely in the 1920s. It will be directed by David Yates, who was behind the camera on four of the eight Harry Potter films. 

According to the Hollywood Reporter, the studio also confirmed its plans for The Lego Movie's sequel. A direct sequel will arrive in 2018, but before that much loved fan favourite Ninjago will come out in 2016, with the newly announced The Lego Batman Movie set for release in 2017. 

As well as this, the studio also confirmed yesterday that Ezra Miller, star of The Perks Of Being A Wallflower and We Need To Talk About Kevin, has signed up to play The Flash in a new big-budget Hollywood movie version of the iconic comic book.

The announcement came as part of a series of announcements of new projects from Warner Brothers chairman Kevin Tsujihara, with movies based on a series of iconic properties due for release in the coming years. 

Tsujihara also confirmed that a Suicide Squad movie is expected in 2016, both Wonder Woman and Justice League Part One are due in 2017, Aquaman is set for 2018Shazam and Justice League Part Two for 2019, and Cyborg and a new Green Lantern for 2020.

The LEGO Movie
The LEGO Movie Phil Lord, Chris Miller

More Articles

View All